We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat with fantastic views”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the kitchen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view. Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view.
Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Early Winter
Spacious 2nd story, wrap-around viewing deck
Living Room ceiling, operable skylight and the music and exercize loft
Fully equipped kitchen with hand made, wrap-around maple bar with bar stools.
The kitchen bar
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
Large soaking tub with forest view in Mountain Master
The Sunset Master
Sunset Master
Sunset Master desk
The cozy Peak Room
Let your inner drummer and quitarist loose! Note: the congas are no longer available.
Elliptical x-trainer in the exercise/music loft
The craft corner
Firepit with a view!
Picnic table on front deck
Bistro with a view!
Beautiful skies are common
Life on this elevated deck is nothing short of wonderful!
The Milky Way and The Mountain Star - shot taken by visiting guest
The Milky Way from the front deck - shot taken by visting guest
The San Francisco Peaks with star trails taken from the deck by visiting guest
Library, sound system and board games
The main living area facing east
Enjoy a campfire in front of the mountain!  Wood is provided!
Main living Area
Main living area
The west deck
An Elk bull visiting the front yard
A great day to ski out and ski in
Bull Elk grazing out front
Panoramic views and wide-open spaces
The Mountain Star Shipwheel to help you set your course to adventure! :)
Late summer evening
A light snow cover day
A great day to ski out and ski in
Wintery Skies
Birds love the deck feeder.
A mountain bluebird graces the deck railing
Moonset over Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck
Moonrise over Saddle Mountain taken from east deck
The incredible night sky.  A 3-second exposure at 1am taken from south deck.
Lots of open land around the Mountain Star
Beautiful sunrises and sunsets are common - taken from south deck
Panstarrs Comet and Crescent Moonset - taken from west deck!
Panstarss Comet setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
Crescent moon setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
X-country skiing at your front door
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Nearby aspen forest in winter
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
387Sue_Da...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat with fantastic views”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all really enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Star. It was a fantastic house with lots of creative touches inside and out. Rob was there to greet us on arrival and gave us a detailed tour of the house and tips on how to make the most of our stay in and around Flagstaff which was very useful. It was a very relaxing place with no TV or Wi-Fi so we could chill out and just enjoy the views and wildlife. We saw Elk and plenty of birds during our stay. We enjoyed toasting marshmallows over the fire outside and the night sky was amazing. Never seen so many stars. The Grand Canyon was an hour drive away and Flagstaff was 20 miles from house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location and the style of house
Liked least: Flying insects outside property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanetLigh...
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
1 review
“Oasis...a GORGEOUS place to unplug!”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Mountain Star's owner/host, Rob Dutton, is warm, engaging and EASY to work with! Rob is wonderful at providing thoughtful attention to all details and is sincerely passionate about his enterprise, and, rightfully, so! Rob provides a level of personal attention that is hard to find! A sweet touch: finding a chalkboard, hanging on the wall, with a personal message from the owner/host Rob Dutton, along with other unexpected, fun, special treats! Every detail has been considered!
We greatly appreciated Rob's knowledgeable wisdom and information about the area and different activities to participate in which we took advantage of!
Mountain Star's owner/host Rob Dutton has an impeccable standard! Mountain Star is immaculate, clean, tidy and has a real "home-feeling"...it's a spacious home with incredible quality throughout! Tasteful and comfortable epitomizes the home's interior, We literally felt that we were at home with everything we needed inside the nearest closet or drawer. There is a full kitchen where we prepared some meals. We had everything we needed in that kitchen, down to the corkscrew!
Mountain Star has an "open-arms" feeling of welcome and authenticity. The rooms are spacious, simple and brimming with sunlight.
Sequestered amid tall trees, surrounded by mountains and nestled in the gorgeous country setting of Kendrick Park, just minutes from Flagstaff, nature is the incredible draw! Glorious panorama of fields, trees, mountains and wildlife everywhere you look! The vast dome of open sky plays it constantly changing show of light, clouds and bright stars above. Close proximity to all things "Flagstaff" and "Grand Canyon"...much of life is lived out on the deck...from the amazing "wrap-around" deck, we relived our day's experiences and ate our steaks, roasted marshmallows and enjoyed our wine around the fire pit. Day or night, stunning vista views from all directions!
It felt great to wake up in the peaceful, gorgeous surrounds of Kendrick Park!
Mountain Star has become our "go-to" location to rest & relax...if you want a quiet place to unplug, THIS is the place!
Mountain Star has a special way of making its guests feel completely relaxed. Mountain Star is like an OASIS! We were sad to leave...we wished we could stay longer! The experience was incredible! I wouldn't change a thing! I can't say enough about how pleased we were with Mountain Star and its owner/host Rob Dutton and would readily return and HIGHLY recommend to family and friends! We will always give it our HIGHEST recommendation on all counts! We definitely will be back! In fact, we have booked our next vacation in August 2016 for the Mountain Star!!! We won't be disappointed!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner/host Rob Dutton, his stunningly beautiful home and the gorgeous surroundings!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Hi Janet,

Wow! Thank you for the the wonderful and thoughtful review!!! I look forward to your net visit! All the best, Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docpoole
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed May 26, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing location. The house is very quirky and cluttered. Main bedroom is great. Unfortunately the second bedroom is less so. The bed is by the wall so one of the 2 people has great difficulty in getting in and out. Rob is a great owner and very helpful. We followed his advice replaces to see and definitely do not regret that.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard V
Lee, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Close to the south rim, and plenty of other things to see. Host very helpful upon checking in, and the the things to do. Off the grid, but WiFi would have been great to have, so bring your own hotspot.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain Star - top destination”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Mountain Star. It is very quiet yet close to lots of attractions. We stayed there at the end of our fly drive Arizona & Utah vacation and spent our time relaxing. Rob is a great host and made us very welcome.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you, Martin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mountain star !!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The mountains star was everything we hoped for. The cabin, the view, the charm was absolutely gorgeous. Rob thought of everything. My family and I loved it, I could definitely see ourselves going back in the very near future. My favorite thing was to sit outside on balcony in the morning during sunrise and have my coffee and just enjoy the view. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rap around balcony
Liked least: no wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you, Daniel! Best, Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacy F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional location, breathtaking views, abundant amenities= BEST rental between the Grand Canyon and Flagstaff!”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The drive to the Mountain Star was beautiful and easy thanks to the owner's detailed directions. Minutes from the Arizona Snowbowl ski area, Flagstaff, various hiking trials within the Coconino National Forest, this rental is the perfect choice for those who want to explore the area from a central location. Since it was only an hour north to the Grand Canyon and less than 45 minutes south to Sedona, our family of 6 was able to make the most of our few days there over Spring Break.
However, if relaxing "off the grid" in picturesque mountains is what you're looking for, the Mountain Star fits that bill perfectly, too. The views from every window, door, and deck are breathtaking--especially the sunrises and sunsets. The house is furnished with all the comforts of home and more--a fully-stocked kitchen (including oils and spices!), extra backpacks, gloves, and hiking poles, ample linens, comfy beds, giant DVD collection (no local or satellite tv), library, workout space, laundry room, and a great surround-sound system. The house is so clean and well-organized. The owner contacts you quickly upon booking and is very accessible. He met us at the house and provided us with a notebook full of suggestions of best hikes, best restaurants, etc. in the area. He even suggested just driving up to see the ski area, and from that look at the slopes, we decided to let our kids learn to snow ski for the first time. It proved to be smaller, less-crowded, and affordable--a perfect place for beginners!
Also, we booked All-Star Grand Canyon Tours for a day hike/tour of the GC, and they came to the house to pick us up and brought us back! They were familiar with the rental as well, and that made it even easier for us.
I cannot say enough about this wonderful house! Thank you again to the owner, Rob, for helping us make fantastic, lasting memories with our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: No satellite tv
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Thank you so much for this wonderful and thorough review, Lacy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing