We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lipan Point

Lipan Point
Book In Advance
More Info
$151.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Deluxe Tour From Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Crane Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The best of all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We visited must of the view points and found that we liked this one best. It is not on the shuttle bus route so you must travel by car, bicycle, tour bus, etc. Lipan offers expansive views of a wide variety of different terrain.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnkautzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    24
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Never been before and now I wonder why?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I had been to teh Cnyon many times before and never stumbled across this point. Definately worth a trip - and sunrises there are fab.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandyinhgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Sunrise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We opted to watch the sunrise at Lipan Point and it was a magical experience. We were amazed by the tiny birds zipping around like fighter jets and even more amazed by the HUGE crows.

Sunrise at the Grand Canyon is a magical event and Lipan Point was a very nice place to see it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank QOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was so beautiful I cried. And it was cloudy and rainy and I could barely see anything, and I still cried.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYCTallulah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
745 reviews
419 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
“Look across at the North Rim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lipan Point offers very panoramic views as well as stretches of the Colorado River far below. You need to drive yourself to get there, the shuttle doesnpt come out here on desert view drive. Depending on the time olf day parking can be a bit of an issue.
Lipan Point is the point where the north rim is 'only' 8 miles away, offering a great view (not seen from many other viewpoints) of the Supergroup on the north rim with their slanted layers. Do not pass this viewpoint by when you're on Desert View Drive; it's worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lipan Point also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Lipan Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing