We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GCFI Backpack to Clear Creek Canyon”

Grand Canyon Association
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Guided hiking and backpacking classes and tours at Grand Canyon National Park since 1993. Grand Canyon Association Field Institute is a program of the official nonprofit park partner, the Grand Canyon Association, and serves thousands of Grand Canyon visitors each year. We offer fun and informative educational classes and guided hiking tours for everyone, from seasoned backpackers to families with children on their first visit to Grand Canyon. On day hikes, overnight backcountry treks and rim-based learning adventures, you'll share the wonders of Grand Canyon with Field Institute experts. No matter what your age or Grand Canyon interest, whether you're traveling solo or with a small group, you'll be treated to what is often described as the trip of a lifetime!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GCFI Backpack to Clear Creek Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you're looking for a challenge, join the GCFI five-day backpack to Clear Creek Canyon from the Grand Canyon's South Rim. Two leaders guided us as we walked, pointing out Canyon geology, zoology, plant forms and history, including what is known about ancient peoples. Sighting a condor, they discussed the program reintroducing this magnificent bird to California. We talked about who built the South Kaibab trail, and why. And so forth, along the route. Stopping at Phantom Ranch we set up a comfortable camp and continued to tell stories. Who built the stone cabins at Bright Angel Creek? Who introduced the mules? For anyone interested in getting to know this area deeply, and for those looking to see if they can handle a hike of 45 miles or so with 4500 ft of elevation loss, and gain, this hike offers an unparalleled adventure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    4
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My second trip to the Grand Canyon and the first for my wife. There are not enough words to describe the experience of seeing the canyon itself and it is hard to take it all in to be honest. My first trip was on a helicopter which was an experience but would most definitely recommend a visit on foot and with a guide. We were privileged and very fortunate to have Wayne Ranney as our guide from the GCFI and had one of the most spectacular days during our three week west USA road trip. My wife Mary was absolutely terrified of heights but he applied patience, politeness and humour to what was a challenging situation for her – managing to at least in one case get her half way across the car park to the rim. Overall he was extremely informative at exactly the right level and whilst being obviously a very knowledgeable and an absolute professional he was very down to earth and an absolute pleasure to meet.Being a previous ranger in the park as well as a writer of books and lecturer on the canyon we got way more than we expected or had hoped for. We cannot say enough except a big thank you and a real experience that we will remember for ever - with the canyon and Wayne.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank iannorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Women's Historical and Cultural Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have travelled extensively and this was one of the best trips I ever went on. It was guided by Slim and Elaine. They were both in great shape and very knowledgeable of the history, the geology, the flora and the fauna of the Grand Canyon. In addition, they were fun. I believe the Grand Canyon is the most impressive place I have ever been. The hike was challenging, but worth every drop of sweat and every labored breath. The facilities at Phantom Ranch at the bottom of the canyon were excellent - clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and the people were more then helpful. I would recommend this trip to anyone who loves the outdoors and in good physical shape.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fun and educational enrichment experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We wanted to give our 11-year old son an educational experience he could treasure.Our guide, Amanda, was amazing. She was knowledgeable and entertaining and wove geology and folklore together. She gave us plenty of insider information and tips that we would have never found on our own. I highly recommend GCFI for families who want to get to know the history and geology of the canyon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCFI, Manager at Grand Canyon Association, responded to this review, July 23, 2015
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I am so glad you were able to get an insiders look at the Canyon. Our program aims to bring the canyon's geology, flora, fauna, and rich cultural story alive through an in-depth - but fun - exploration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Meet the Canyon' Family Class was perfect for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We visited GCNP last April as part of our spring break trip to AZ and took this class because we had a limited amount of time to spend. Our guide, Rick, was FANTASTIC. His knowledge of GCNP was so impressive and he was able to fill our day with sights that we probably would not have found on our own and a great history lesson for our boys. Well worth the price.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DEMom19707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon Association also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing