We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermit Trail

Hermit Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Walked half way one afternoon,caught bus the next day to where we left off so we could finish trail. Long walk but you get to see places that you miss on the bus,we seen a herd of elk(8) and we were all by our selves.Look outs are all worth it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank skipro4720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    38
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but tough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I have hiked the Bright Angel and the South Kaibab. The Hermit trail is the more scenic and least travelled--only saw 4 others all day. The trail was originally well constructed and parts of it are in good shape, but there are a number of places where boulders have obstructed the trail. Even descending the trail is exhausting. But if you like solitude and a physical challenge (and if you are going to hike in the canyon, you better) it's an experience you won't forget

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank joszeph_pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the bus ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

In order to get to the Hermit Trail, you have to ride the shuttle bus for a good distance. It's worth it. Along the way, you get to see the grand canyon from a variety of view points.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ogre1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We visited the park in February, and were told (incorrectly, by park rangers no less) that the Hermit Trail was closed to private cars. We were then instructed to take a certain park shuttle bus to get there; but when asked, the driver said they didn't go there.

We were saved by fellow visitors who gave us correct info, and that saved the trip for us. The trail was indeed open to cars and we ended up driving the 8-mile trail twice. There are several pullover points to get out at and overlook the canyon. Of course, they get especially busy around sunset, so go early and pick your favorite vista.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dpohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everyone can enjoy the views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was a little worried seeing the Grand Canyon because of my knees but the hermit trail is so user friendly it made for a wonderful experience and all the views were easily accessible and enjoyable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paulamacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermit Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Hermit Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing