We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, dirty, dirty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dirty, dirty, dirty!”
Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed in a "remodeled" cabin (new beds, bed covers, and curtains, maybe the carpet?). The cabin was rustic which is how it should be at a National Park. The cleaning crew just cleaned the toilet, sink, shower and changed the sheets and that's the end of that. The carpet was not vacuumed - crumbs everywhere, the bathroom floor was dirty with stains and hair all over the place - all the mirrors and faucets were filthy...truly gross. Not to mention we did not have electricity in our cabin until 11pm when maintanance got into the fuse box. Next time will camp!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sidney2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    791
    404
    141
    66
See reviews for
682
1,009
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Stayed in a western cabin for 3 nights. The cabin was large, in good decorative order and one row away from being a rim cabin! From our porch, while on our rocking chairs we could see the canyon. Bit of a cold snap while we were there but the cabin has both a gas fireplace (mostly for show but romantic) and a proper gas heater which kept us warm. No rodents in the room but occasionally chipmunks under the floorboards - nothing at all to worry about, just the odd squeak or two :-)

The lodge has a coffee shop/bar, post office, gift shop, deli and restaurant. Restaurant reservations are a must. Food was pretty good and, considering the captive audience, not too expensive.

All in all a very convenient, friendly and generally nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lemmingjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

LOCATION- There are no words for the canyon & no picture does it any justice. A natural cathedral. If you go to the North Rim be sure to visit Cape Royal & Imperial Point.
ALTITUDE- was DEFINATELY a factor on day one. If you're used to being close to sea level - give yourself a day or two to get used to it. Short walks of several hundred yards left us panting on day one. By day two, we were fine & we hiked five+ miles, along the Wilfloss Trail w/ no problems(awesome views at every turn.)
WATER- It's dry in a way that is hard to comprehend. Carried & drank 1/2 gallon each on short-moderate day hikes. Don't underestimate your need for water.
CHILDREN- If you have young'ens BE AWARE that there are dropoffs and even where provided the guard rails are less than perfect. Some had substancial gaps between the middle and top rails (ie: near the lookout to the right of the Lodge.) I saw small children running unsupervised, except by siblings, in very dangerous places. (As a retired Ladder Company Firefighter, I'm no stranger to heights.) Consider a harness & use it in the more dangerous places. You might be self-conscious doing so but it beats a lifetime of heartache & regret. I saw one couple using them and I stopped to compliment them on it. Also, saw an adult (male) almost slide over the edge while trying to stand in loose gravel posing for a photo!
NORTH RIM LODGE- we stayed all 5 nights at the North Rim Lodge (Rm 412) which was a basic hotel/motel room. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite adequate. Loved that there was no TV (and didn't miss it.) Saw mule deer from the balcony outside our room each morning. The cabins were very close together & many had a lot of foot traffic around them. Our lodge room was out of the way & quiet.
NORTH RIM LODGE RESTRAUANT was expensive, (ie: $32 for "free range" buffalo meatloaf ??) although I found the less exotic food quite good. We ate there twice, then cancelled our reservations & ate at the Kabab Lodge (about a mile outside of the park gate) were the fare was simpler and much less expensive, plus we could watch the mule deer enter the meadows as it got dark.
I'd go again in a minute. We've already booked another trip for Oct. This time Zion/ Grand Reef/ Mesa Verde & Monument Valley in 11 days. Can't wait.

Helpful?
9 Thank Maddog70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed in one of the rim view cabins and loved it. Yes, we did see one mouse but the room and bath were very clean. The staff was nice and we would stay here again. The only problem is the difficulty of securing reservations in one of the rim view cabins. There is a fireplace, coffee maker and mini-fridge. We loved it.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

Stayed in one of the hotel rooms (416) at the motel at the Grand Canyon-North Rim October 10-12, 2006. Motel is former employee housing which has been nicely refurbished. Located in the woods, slightly away from the main lodge and cabins. Our room was fine. Quite/non-smoking room with a queen size bed. Furnishings were adequate. Sink/vanity shares the bedroom area and toilet/shower area is separate and very small. (I kept bumping my elbows in the shower.) Great exterior walkway borders this row of rooms with seating to watch the sunset/animals. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the North Rim. Not many options for food (except the Lodge, Deli or Saloon). Great hiking and outdoor activities. LOVED the mule ride to Supai Tunnel! Highly recommend visiting the North Rim and we found the motel lodging to be fine.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank virginian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

We stayed three nights at the Grand Canyon North Rim cabins in Sept., 2003. We had a wonderful time! Not only were they inexpensive ($90+ a night) they were clean. The cabin was large enough with a table and chairs, plenty of windows, a queen sized bed, a gas fireplace and a nice sized bathroom. We had a porch big enough for two rocking chairs. My only complaint would be that you need to reserve these cabins up to a year in advance and because the drive into the canyon is lengthy, you don't have much of a choice but to eat in their dining room which was very nice with good food, but pricey.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2007

We have stayed in the grand canyon lodge in october 2005, we are used to travel (2 or 3 times a year in north america) and it's our worse experience. It was disgusting, the toilet was durty, the shower hasn't been cleaned (even the sample of shampoo was still in the shower!!! ), the queen bed wasn't a really queen size bed, the room was dark and rustic, the food at the restaurant was awful.
The only good point was the view, but it's not enough.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — every thing
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank chrystelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,342 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing