We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
pennsburg, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

The cabins are no frills...no TV, pool or air conditioning, but you are there for the views! WOW, spectacular location, the cabins are what make this place so special. The food was a little pricey because there is nothing else around and I guess that is also part of the charm, no fast food chains! It was a welcomed respite from our crazy everyday lives, would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brozPennsburg_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    760
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
658
972
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
friendswood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

I loved my experience at the Grand Canyon North Rim. The drive to the north rim is beautiful in itself. It was so peaceful and serene. The people at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. I booked my rooms in January, but had to cancel when my father-in-law had a bike accident that landed us in the ER the day we were to arrive. They were very sweet and said that would probably be able to book our rooms since we called early in the day. We called a few days later from Zion NP and were able to squeeze in the visit anyway. My husband and I, our three kids (ages 10-14) and my in-laws all stayed in the pioneer cabin for 6 (the only thing available at the last minute). A little tight, but we were just happy to be there. The cabin was very quaint, charming and comfortable. A cold front had blown through the day before so it was very cold outside, but just right in the cabin.The parking lot is kind of far from some of the cabins, so I especially appreciated the man in the golf cart who drove us to our car to get our considerable luggage and my injured father-in-law, in the rain, and then drove us to our cabins (took two trips). It was a comedy of errors that had us rolling, but he was very good natured! The dining room was beautiful, we had a table right by the window (unfortunately, it was dark, overcast and rainy when we arrive so we couldn't see anything), but the food was disappointing and very pricey. We got breakfast at the little cafe the next morning (breakfast burritos ok), better experience, and the kids were excited that they got free refills all day long. We could have sat on the veranda forever, but walked the trails to enjoy the breathtaking views. To top it off, as we drove out the next day, there was a dusting of snow on the ground and it actually snow on us briefly, such a magical moment for people from Houston, TX! We visited the south rim the next day, which was very crowded and stressful to me. I would choose the north rim anyday!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

The accommodations at the Lodge are about as good as one would expect. They are not a great value, unless you realize where they are, on the very rim of the most magnificent place on earth. They could ask twice what they charge for their rooms, and they would get it, because people want to stay there, and there are few alternatives, and none of those are on the rim. Even on the more heavily visited South Rim the lodges are not so close to the rim that you can look down into the canyon from your dining table or, on occasion, your room. We stayed in a Frontier cabin which lacked sound-proofing or a place to sit or a shower you could turn around in. I waited so long for hot water when we first arrived I had to report it to the desk, only to find that you had to waste a lot of water if your cabin is remote from the water heater. But I would not want them to change a thing about the cabins. If you want that view, you just walk over to the charming main lodge and sit in one of their deep couches while you listen to their vintage radio. Or better yet walk along the trails along the rim. The ranger talks are very informative and well attended. The restaurant food is good enough given the challenge of their location. The service was friendly though rushed. All in all you have to consider where you are if you complain about the short comings of the place. The lodge and cabins are not about to be torn down or replaced by a new 5-star theme resort. They are what they are. This is one place where the rooms are just for sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidhauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

Won't repeat most of what many others have said. Rim view pioneer cabin is really a partial view if you crane your neck out the window. You do get a whole building which is nice with small children that tend to make noise. Did not eat in the lodge dining room, based on previous reviews. Did order a whole pizza one day which is a good value versus ordering by the slice. You wait 25 minutes for a whole pie to bake, but there is plenty to look at on the rim. I walked around all the cabins and cabin 309 has the best view of the canyon. The cabins are arranged in such a way that you could end up with a great view or be right next to the public rest rooms at the lodge with the stench that goes with it. Other cabins are right on the public walkway or so close to the veranda at the lodge that you really have no privacy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizWiz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

apparently, rim side means partial rim view thru the trees. that's the view we had from our rim side pioneer cabin. very misleading info on their website. i thought i was paying extra for a full rim view. wrong! there were actually only a handful of cabins with full view of the rim. majority has no view or little view like ours. cabin itself is small but has comfy bed and good shower. has no problem getting seats at their lodge dining room after 9pm with no reservation. food was ok. north rim is definitely worth a visit. it's a place where u feel at awe with nature.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anna9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We were a family of three traveling on a budget, out to see and enjoy the views and hiking experiences of the North Rim of the Grand Canyon for a three day-two night trip. My BF, 8 y/o son and I stayed in a motel room in the Grand Canyon North Rim for a two night stay in late July (July 30 and 31st). There are extremely limited lodging options on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. The North Rim views from the trails and even the lodge are so awesome and humbling.

The Grand Canyon Lodge, note-isn’t actually a lodge with rooms to stay inside the lodge building. You should know you MUST book very, very early, book as early as you possibly can…. We booked in early March for late July and could ONLY book a motel room. The lodge, which was rebuilt in 1937, is both rustic and super charming. The cabins they offer come in three different styles and price points and are scattered around the lodge, shops and various other structures. There are also motel style rooms, which we opted (really was all we could get) for and paid $117 per night, plus for each extra person it is $10 additional and if you would like a rollway bed it is an additional $10 p/n on top of that-so $137 p/n. The motel style rooms are a good value. Based on my assessment (by just standing outside many of the cabins randomly), NONE of the cabins has even a good view the canyon. Some of the cabins are positioned better than others, such as the cabins with porches and rocking chairs, which appeared (from standing directly outside the door) to have only a partial view of the canyon between the pine trees. Our motel style room (423) like most of the rooms was like a small apartment structure. Inside the motel rooms the accoutrements are small and very basic (no TV), but the room was comfortable and clean. The room comes complete with a nice sized ceiling fan over the DOUBLE bed, a small cube refrigerator, a small coffeemaker and even a hair dryer. The bathroom was dark and very -very small, depending on your size you could actually experience difficulties sitting down on the toilet as the space where the it is-is only about as wide as the toilet itself with maybe only an inch to spare total on both sides VERY small and very claustrophobic….…. Overall, it was small - but clean and sufficient for our needs.

The overlook, which is the best part of the whole lodge experience is on the east and west sides of the lodge and has wonderful rustic seating with friendly tourists scattered about and an awe inspiring and spectacular view of the canyon. Caution: If you enjoy sipping a beverage or having a bottle of wine while taking in these amazing views you may want to note that everything must served be in plastic cups-YES everything-no glass whatsoever. We watched and laughed as several hoity-toity types refused their bottles of wine after they found out they couldn’t drink it from a wine glass and had to accept drinking their highly overpriced wine out of plastic cups.......… no glass items are allowed in the overlook area.

I was however, extremely disappointed at the dining choices. There are only two choices, the Lodge itself, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (only by reservation), has a very limited menu for all meal times and I felt they had very high prices in my book-entrees for dinner are $18 to $25, the Breakfast buffet with limited items was $12.75 p/p. We didn't dine there as they were always full with many people waiting and not looking very happy while they were waiting, although they did continue seating dinner reservations until well after 10:00 p.m. I heard many people around the overlook comment that it was not worth the wait time etc. The other dining choice is “The Deli in the Pines” a cafeteria style eating arrangement. They have pre-packaged foods that did not look at all appetizing ($10 for very small pre-made salads, pre-made sandwiches wrapped in saran wrap $6.75, 10oz breakfast parfait-yogurt/granola $6.75, Pizza is sold ONLY by the slice-YES-you order a whole pizza, you pay by the slice of $3.75 and they are sitting in a warmer spinning thing when you order-so it’s not fresh). The self-serve ice cream is just awful DO NOT waste your money on it. Reviewer's NOTE: If you are staying for a short stay, there is a small refrigerator in the rooms that will store a couple of days worth of light meals (sandwiches, bottled water, soda etc), which you can bring from home or purchase in a city area grocery (such as Flagstaff) before you make your final journey up to the North Rim area. We opted to bring some food and then we also got food from the General Store located adjacent to the campground. The General Stores was also unfortunately extremely overpriced for the items they offered. We spent $35 for about 7 basic food items. Although their Wine selection was real decent and priced reasonably-but again if you have an issue with using plastic cups you should refrain.

Overall, the experience at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon is Excellent and more spectacular, less crowded and more serene than the South Rim. And despite my comments-this trip was not about the accommodations or dining experience its about the Grand Canyon itself which is so amazing and a once in a lifetime experience. If you go you will enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ciaobaby000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We got lucky and booked a room a day before we arrived. Perfect location, great views, very romantic place. The rooms are small, but it was very romantic, we felt like in Russian village. We needed iron - it was delivered promtly. The restaurant is excellent, the best food I ate for the whole trip around Grand Canyons. We liked peaceful North Rim more that overcrowded South Rim village.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing