We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we could have stayed longer !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2006

We stayed in a motel room at the North Rim Lodge. The rooms were clean and it was just a basic room with a King bed. It was quiet at night and peaceful. There was a porch outside our room which had a couple of chairs. There was a very nice view in the evening of the night sky from our porch area.

The best part about staying here is the North Rim Lodge. It has a beautiful patio which over looks the Grand Canyon. It is just amazing !! The view is incredible. This makes up for the basic room. There is a nice deli there at the lodge that sells hot dogs, pizzas and sandwhiches. It was pretty good. We had dinner in the lodge restaurant. You have to make reservations. We thought it was just okay. It was almost $40. for both of us but it was cafeteria tasting food. I wish we would have just ordered something from the Deli and ate outside on the patio. Another nice part of the lodge is they have a bar there. You can order some drinks at the bar and sit out on the patio. It makes for a nice evening. It is just beautiful and relaxing The night we were there the park had a telescope out so everyone could look at the different stars and planets. I loved it. The people who brought children seemed to love it too.

There is a nice general store at the park. We bought all of our food supplies for hiking there. It was nice as well. Everyone working there was so friendly.

Walking through the park by the cabins this place reminded me so much of a summer camp. I would highly recommend staying here if you can. This place books up early because it is the closest place to stay in the North Rim. We originally were going to stay at Jacob's Lake Inn. Because the North Rim was full. Jacob's Lake seemed pretty far about 1 hour away. I kept calling and eventually there was a cancellation at North Rim. I recommend you do the same keep calling back for cancellations.

Also the hiking is nice in the North Rim some of the trails give you better angles to see the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tracy19288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,326 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2006

The Grand Canyon Lodge was absolutley beautiful with breathtaking views of the canyon. The stone patio was inviting and stunning. The indoor viewing room was nicely masculine - with leather seating. The atmosphere was rustic and the furnishings replete with a western/woodsy theme. No lace, no fancy curtains, no purple & pink, no feminine touch, whcih as a woman, was inviting fo a change. The saloon had great drinks and ambiance and the restuarant was five star in our book! THe room was very nice with rustic charm, but I would have preferred to stay in a cabin - lesson here - is book a cabin early - a year in advance. May was a great time to go because it was not crowded at all. We are booking a cabin soon for our return trip in 2008!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LoveSnowInPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville
219
Reviewed June 26, 2006

After getting permits for a rim to rim hike across the Grand Canyon we could not get a reservation at the Grand Canyon Lodge on the north rim. We had a reservation at the camp ground but wanted to start our hike refreshed. I called Xanterra several times and finally got a cancellation for a Western Cabin. The Xanterra crew was outstanding in their customer service, always helpful and pleasant. The cabin is just that. A CABIN. Don't expect anything more than that. You're on the north rim of the Grand Canyon, enjoy the view because you won't find a five star hotel up there. Beds were comfortable and rooms reasonably clean. Cabin is big with two bedrooms. One with a queen and twin, the other with two twins, seperated by a bathroom.The main lodge itself is beautiful and I won't even try to describe the view. Go there and see it for yourself. I see lots of comments about how bad the food is and I have to agree. It's pretty bad. Don't understand why the lodge doesn't respond with a new menu or chef. Breakfast buffet on the other hand was very filling and quality was excellent. Perfect way to start a five-day hike across the canyon. I would stay there again.

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin Texas
110
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Four of us stayed for three nights in a Frontier cabin. Would recommend a larger Western cabin if you have more than 2 people, but the view was outstanding. Don't come here for the food. The Lodge restaurant is the only place to eat, other than a deli that's even worse. The restaurant staff is unprofessional and slow. The food is mediocre at best. Come here for the view, and bring your own picnic.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

Visited for a few day in late May, 2006. Spectacular view and great old lodge ...architecture is remarkable. But that is it...restaurant food was mediocre at the best and the cabins were very dark and on the dirty side. Front porch looked as if it hadn't been swept or wiped clean for a year. And expensive to boot. It is virtually the only place in town unless you want to camp. We suggest you camp. Arroyo Grande.

6  Thank Asilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Four of us recently stayed one night at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. My husband and I had a Western Cabin (# 356) and it was great! Right on the Bright Angel Trail (also next to the visitors center, water and ice and the parking lot). It was a handicapped accessible cabin, very clean and comfy. For me, the North Rim is much much better than the South Rim. Less crowds, less development - I felt I could be "closer" to nature and the canyon there. The only small disappointment was the dining room - the staff seemed quite disorganized and overwhelmed during both dinner and breakfast. The food was okay, but not nearly as good as we found at the Bryce Canyon Lodge. But, the food is NOT the reason you go to a national park! The experience is truly amazing there!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank BML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
522
Reviewed June 2, 2006

No matter where you stay in this lodge (there are several housing options) it is really the view you are enjoying! There are some great hikes located from this point. Also, the food is fantastic! The dining area is just out of this world with amazing views. Take advantage of at least one ranger program - out by the fire or in the auditorium - or on the trails! This was out of this world!

Stayed: June 2006
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,729 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,084 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $203 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing