We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good options, amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The North Rim is more remote and quiet, which is seen in it's losing options. You can camp, get a decent cabin or a bit fancier cabin (there are a few motel rooms too). I rented a Frontier cabin. It's basically a log cabin with a good bed, comfy blankets, a small but good tiled bathroom, and a great location, walking to anywhere. It was great! The ceiling fan kept it more than cool at night. I didn't need heat in June but there was a heater. It's not fancy, but it's great rustic fun and very clean. If you expect fancy, go to the south rim, this is the remote north rim. It's rustic and plain and if you are okay with that, you'll be totally happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
There are newer reviews for Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

Two nights in one of the motel rooms. They are small and very basic and the bed was hard. The main lodge building was no more than okay and we felt that there was a lack of care about the place as a whole with it seeming rather rundown. For example it was obvious that the restrooms were not regularly checked as the men's was dirty with paper all over the floor. We ate one night in the main restaurant and although my prime rib was fine my wife's fish dish was tough! Also a bit pricey. Second night we went on the 'Cook-out' which was a complete rip-off with a pathetic amount of third rate food which was very rushed, (eating finished in 15 minutes) and a pretty average pair of entertainers. The whole event took place in a tent behind a service station ten minutes from the lodge. Total of 75 minutes from start to finish. Avoid this at all costs.
The whole place could have been a really memorable experience when visiting such a natural wonder by the visit was marred by the fairly mediocre Grand Canyon Losge.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jazzjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights on our cross country national park road trip. We booked a rim side pioneer cabin a year in advance and were not disappointed. We checked in a little later than was expected, but the young ladies working the desk were very helpful and went above and beyond their duties to get us into our cabin. Contrary to other reviews that I read previously, our cabin did have a decent view of the canyon. It may not have been the most grand, but was more than I was expecting given what I had read. The north rim is much more secluded and tranquil in comparison to the south rim and offered a completely different experience than it's counterpart. I would definitely recommend booking a year in advance as well as a pizza from the Deli in the Pines and drink from the Roughrider Saloon.

Room Tip: Book a year in advance for anything rim view or rim side!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Grand Canyon is amazing, and there are many opportunities to enjoy it, but it was so sad to see this amazing beautiful lodge with big 3 story picture windows with extraordinary views, so poorly attended to. Big leather chairs and sofas were strewn about where ever someone wanted to move them, table tops were dirty and left with last nights trash. This room could be so inviting if nicely appointed with rugs, stationery furnishings and kept clean. It was sad to see people milling about but not sitting down to enjoy this lovely place. Even the terraces were not well appointed, chairs all willy nilly as though no one cared about the guests. The opportunity for a magnificent view when walking in is obscured by stuff in the way (think how wonderful walking into the lodge at Grand Tetons). Our hotel room was minimal, but clean and comfortable, wanted to spend more time there than the lodge.

Room Tip: Most cabins are removed from the lodge and the rim, and although the hotel rooms are too, they are c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is really the only place to stay at the north rim. We were lucky to get a cabin though we were only planning a few weeks in advance. I loved all the chipmunks that were out and about! The cabin was comfortable (#85), but since they are all split into 2 I could hear everything that our neighbors said and did. Glad I wasn't on my honeymoon!

We had breakfast at the lodge. We wouldn't recommend it except that there's really no where else to eat. We did the Cookout Experience and thought it was fun, but a bit pricey for the quality of food.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location speaks for it's self. The cabins are a little dated, but it is rustic charm and it works. They are basic so beware this is not Vegas. Excellent location, all cabins within a few steps of outstanding views. Lodge location and views are incomparable. Everywhere clean and all staff helpful and informative.
If you are considering North or South rim Lodges - South is the 'Disneyland' version.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LiveOutaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

There are 3 types of cabins at the Grand Canyon Lodge.
The Frontier cabins are awful; you would be better off camping in the lovely campground nearby.
The Frontier cabins are basically shared cabins; you and your family stay in one side of the cabin, and another family stays on the other side. You are separated by a locked door. You can hear the conversation of the guests on the other side of the door, word for word, even when they talk softly. The family we had to share with talked until midnight and resumed their talking at 6 am.
Needless to say we didn't sleep that night.
When I talked with the front desk about the problem, they were well aware of the noise issue.
They seemed to agree, and added "We even get complaints of people hearing those on other side snoring!"
If you can't get a Pioneer or Western cabin or motel room or campground, stay elsewhere.
Or plan on bringing lots of earplugs.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Caspian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,531 reviews
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,726 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $189 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing