We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Long Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the Long Drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stunning. Can't believe some of the rubbish people write about the simple things in life, and a flashback to another era...yes is a long drive through desert, forest and meadows but at the end is a natural wonderland of what America is about. North Rim presents the experience of a beautiful American lodge 30 's style, stunning views, great service and a restaurant that I couldn't fault, given the numbers it caters for, I had a beautifully cooked steak, but America generally does the best steaks anywhere.
North Rim, is what it is, remote, with one lodge done the American way. Not many other parts of the world could claim to run a lodge as well with a natural wonder on its doorstep. Yes, there are let downs, like the cafe/deli. The restaurant is the go, your on holidays. Just book on arrival. Other reviewers commented about limited food options.

The cabins are just log cabins, and rim side is not a canyon view, but there is enough literature on the forums calling this out. You'll wake up just before dawn as fellow cabin dwellers rise, making their way in the dark to the Lodge (100 to 200 metres away) to watch the sunrise. I stayed in the cot, was tempted, but snore land took hold with a long drive to LV in mind.

Didn't see the camping ground, so no comment there.

If thinking of a long self drive to the North Rim, go and enjoy what America does best...presenting things on a Grand Scale...and oh the drive off the 8000 ft plateau down through the desert with no name (I forgot), via Springdale (Desert Pearl Inn/Zion National Park) is worth it to. I'll be back.....when USA opens its doors again.....Don't try to find something that it can't be...otherwise stay in Las Vegas.

Room Tip: As soon as you arrive book a reservation in the restaurant, but don't worry about dining at suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    760
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
658
972
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We made reservations for 2 nights, 16 months in advance, for what was to be the centerpiece of a 3 week tour of Colorado, Arizona, and Utah. Even though it was just my wife and I, we took a "rim side" Pioneer Cabin. I had visions of sitting and looking at the Grand Canyon, just taking in it's majesty. The cabin was supposed to be able to handle 5, but again, I wanted "rim side". While 5 human beings could fit inside the cabin, if each had one piece of luggage, there would be no room left. The one queen bed was shoved up against a wall, under a window, making access from one side only,(or the foot of the bed). It also meant the window and drapes were not easily opened or closed. The same was true of the bunk beds - they were pushed up against a window in the second room, making the window impossible to open or close. I can easily handle rustic, but the cabin was dirty, and we found a previous guest's undergarments hanging over the arm of the couch/futon. But the biggest misrepresentation was "rim side". What you can see is Transept Canyon, technically part of the Grand Canyon, but NOT THE Grand Canyon - additionally, the trees and underbrush are so thick one can see only snippets of a view. the Lodge as whole is a joke. The dining is fine as long as you like tasteless, overpriced food, served by nonchalant servers. The second night we just ordered a pizza from the deli. There are no rooms in the lodge, just freestanding cabins, and motel units. If you were lucky enough to snag the best parking spot, and the closest cabin, you would be at least 50 yards from your car, so you have to schlep you bags 50 to 100 yards to your accommodations no matter where you stay. We were told that no porter was available, since a large tour bus had just arrived, so we were on our own. There is no Wi-Fi in the cabins or in the lodge, only at the general store 2 miles away in the campground - seems campers are more in tune with this century than people who stay in the lodge. We hiked, and sat on the terrace of the lodge, enjoyed the Canyon, but if you only have one chance to see the Grand Canyon -and everyone should see it once in their lifetime, see it from the South Rim.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My Husband and I were there a week ago and my lord................. what an experience....! the Log Cabins are Rural, but Very clean and well catered for with toiletries, fridge and heater and gas fire....., cosy beds and porch with rocking chairs... Yes we had views of the trees but beyond those trees you could see the Canyon in all it's! and just a TINY few steps to the Rim...??? Some People!!!!! :/ The Lodge it's self was amazing, Lounge, Sun deck and Restaurant with the most amazing views!!! I am not easily pleased but this place moved me and we booked an extra night... If you are planning to go there, pay the little extra and upgrade to a good cabin and just Take it for what it is.............. A Wonder Of The World!!!!! ....... All of those who did not appreciate it, :/ Shame on you for not looking further ........!!! LOVED IT AND WILL RETURN ASAP!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

When I called I got the last cabin so I had no idea what we were getting into. Turned out to be the best place we stayed durning our trip. It had. 1 single bed and 1 double bed I know odd. Smallish bathroom but nicely furnished. The night was cool and we left the windows open. Quiet and well maintained grounds, the tall pines are just so relaxing and breath taking.

The lodge has one restaurant mad you MUST hVe dinner reservations. The food was ok, but not the best. However, the restaurant is really trying to be something it isn't,and. Little off putting. Breakfast is both menu and a buffet and actually really very good.

The other facilities in the park also great: gift shop, visitor center and general store (only place for wi-if). All we're well stocked.

I want for go ack and spend a couple of nights and really enjoy the environment.

Room Tip: A must if you are doing the North Rim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I realize the drive in to the North Rim is long...but it is so worth it to experience the North Rim - the quieter, less visited rim. While the lodge is the "only game in town" it is a great place to stay. We have never been fortunate enough to stay in the Western cabins (they book up a year in advance) but we have stayed in both the Pioneer and Frontier cabins and they are clean, compact and fun. Pioneer cabins are closer to the rim and the view, but if they are sold out and you end up with a Frontier cabin - you will still have a beautiful, awe-inspiring night at the canyon. One last note - MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS WHEN YOU MAKE YOUR ROOM RESERVATIONS! There is really only one dining room (and one "pizza store") so it fills up every night with the bus trip people getting dinner with their room/stay. We saw a number of people getting "reservations" at 9:30 at night, since that was all that was available. Book early to eat at a reasonable time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
386 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This lodge has spectacular views of the Grand Canyon from the less-traveled side. The Pioneer Cabins were not particularly clean and were quite rugged - even before the power failure that drove us out a day early. There are no accommodations that equal even a chain motel. That's a pity because it's a gorgeous view and deserves a better overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Yes, it's still somewhat crowded, but you can experience the canyon without a Disneyland atmosphere and fewer tour buses. The larger cabins are rustic and not luxurious, but they are very clean, adequate, and just a few steps from the rim views - they give you a feel for awesome wilderness around you, and that's what you are there for.

Food in the dining room was below average, and the service was marginal; but again there are a zillion visitors in addition to hotel guests. We were hiking and trail riding, and we found the breakfast items in the coffee bar and the deli lunch (although pricey) to be quite adequate (try the scones). You can take your food to the rim-side patios and soak up the view while you munch. (much better view than the dining room) You are there to experience the canyon, and if you can be a little independent, you can really do it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing