We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Rim is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“North Rim is a must”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Views are magnificent ,restaurant was very good.The day we arrived in September ( from hot Las Vegas) was really cold and windy, so advise to bring jacket & jeans. Accommodation, clean & comfortable. There is no TV not a an issue but there was no WiFi which was very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Book 12 months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    777
    398
    138
    62
See reviews for
666
992
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely log cabin located right in the Park. Amenities were basic but certainly met the need. Very clean and quiet location. Restaurant staff seemed tired and worn out from summer season. Cabins Convenient to trails. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent the weekend here in mid-September, and loved it. 40's at night, high 60's in the day, just about perfect. The aspens are bright yellow & beautiful contrast to the evergreens. We stayed in a rustic cabin which was very clean & pleasant, No TV & a gas log fireplace made for a nice evening reading. Everyone we encountered was pleasant, courteous, & professional. The Lodge restaurant was excellent for dinner, & we thoroughly enjoyed our venison & trout meals. The Manager of the restaurant was a great fellow....Our 1st visit to the North Rim, & it is SO preferable to the South Rim. Sunrise & sunset from the veranda were fun & beautiful. Met lots of other travelers & enjoyed that too. At nearly $200 a night, this is not inexpensive, but our room was very clean & no a/c was not an issue. We will probably bring our travel trailer to the campground next time, but I'm glad to have had this experience. We'll be back ! !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinManGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had intended to visit the North Rim and then carry on around to the South Rim, however it was raining and extremely foggy when at 12:30pm we arrived at the North Rim. Being that we were on motorcycles and riding in this sort of weather is dangerous, especially due to the fog, we took a break and had coffee and light lunch in the Lodge restaurant. My fiancé had a salad, while I indulged in a piece of blueberry pie which disappointingly - was made with canned filling. The forecast was to continue as was for the remainder of the day and into the next, so we enquired about a nights' lodging, only to be told that the lodge was completely booked and our only hope was for cancellations that may be available after 3pm. Fortunately the fog lifted for a couple of hours, so we walked around the North Rim area and snapped some photos while we awaited news of a cancellation which may provide a room for the night. A "rim view" cabin became available, and due to the weather and fact that the Lodge was the ONLY accomodations for many miles, we snapped up the $200 cabin. Unfortunately the rain and fog settled back in mid-afternoon, and we were stuck in the cabin which had no television or internet access. What a boring and disappointing experience, to be at the edge of the Grand Canyon with no views due to heavy fog and no in-room entertainment to pass the time. $200/night and no amenities - really in this day and age? Thought we could at least enjoy some drinks at the Saloon, however their drinks were over $7 just for a beer - again - really? Great historical facility, but needs to get with the times, offer better value/amenities for the guest costs. The cabin was quite dusty, with numerous spider webs and several live spiders. To say the cabin had a "rim view" was a stretch, although it was steps from the rim which was cool, the "rim view" was completely obscured by really overgrown trees and scrub brush. Do some tree trimming, clean away the spider webs etc - improve the experience for your guests.

Room Tip: Cabin was quite dusty, with a lot of spider webs. "Rim View" isn't technically true d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent the night at the North Rim GC Lodge the week before July 4th. The cabins are dated and could really use an upgrade. The showers are the tiniest I've ever seen! Also there is no a/c. We tried opening the windows but the foot traffic combined with our loud neighbors made for a very long, hot night. Considering this is really the only place to stay and they're always booked, you'd think they would have a multi-function heat-a/c unit in the cabins. We ate dinner at the lodge restaurant. It was average, at best. We did, however, enjoy the breakfast buffet and were lucky enough to get a window seat that overlooked the canyon. We booked two nights but only stayed one. We explained why we did not want to stay the additional night and they were very understanding and apologized for any inconvenience. At least we got to see the north rim of the GC and that was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbndanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
259 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We paid $189 for our cabin on the North Rim, and the room was a big disappointment. It was very basic and had a funky, moldy smell. But we were yards from the Bright Angel trail. We hung out on the point both at sunset and in the morning. Beautiful and, in the end, worth the steep room price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were very pleased with our accomodations. They are very dated, yet clean and very comfortable. The electrical outlets were loose; to charge our cellphones and our tablet, we had to use something to "prop up" the plugs. I did notify the staff at the Lodge. I do hope they replace the outlets...it can be a fire hazard.
The only WIFI was at the camp general store, which did not work. While we were there a
young couple from Europe were desperatly trying to change a booking and they could not. They had to use quarters to use a pay phone. Not sure how that went, I do hope they were able to solve their problem. I know that the North Rim Cabins pride themselves with their "rustic"ness, but times have changed. The weather was questionable and all I kept hearing was the % chance of rain. Please!!!!, show me a radar map and I will make an informed decision about hiking, not a guess by a random statement of percentage. It would have been so much "smarter" with current technology. I appreciate the rustic, however, in a tumultuous place like the Grand Canyon, all technology is needed to make informed decisions before beginning a hike.
Our dining room experience was great. It was our 34th anniversary and our waiter made it very special. When all was said and done I would love to stay there again...but... when hiking the Canyon all technology is needed to make a well informed decision. We are planning on coming back to stay at the Lodge when we return to hike rim to rim. I hope, at that time, the North Rim Grand Canyon Lodge will have caught up with technology, yet still remain "rustic."

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSTrabbic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,267 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,894 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing