We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Papaaloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

For me, it's all about the location--steps away from the majestic North Rim of the Grand Canyon. We were up and out hiking and exploring for most of the day and were only in the room to take a brief rest or to sleep at night. The motel style room is small, clean, and kinda warm at night even--thankfully they have a ceiling fan which helped somewhat. While we were there the daytime highs were in the mid 90's which is super warm for there and by comparison it was 112 in Zion a couple days before. If you arrive knowing what to expect you'll be ok. It has a fridge and coffee maker. Small bathroom with shower and separate sink/vanity area. Bed was a double and not that comfortable. We were there 2 nights and the 2nd night for sleeping was torturous. (In some ways I preferred the campground where we spent 1 night as my air mattress was more comfortable than the lodge bed.) No tv, ac, or wifi. Only wifi is at the campground store which has a roomy veranda with comfortable tables and chairs to chill and do internet. It is about 3 minutes away if driving or 1.5 mile walk. But as I say it is about the location and the main lodge building with the two canyon top decks with the incredible vistas along with all the trails etc. make it memorable. Having day hiked to the north rim from Cottonwood Campground back in spring of 2000, it was fun to see it all from this perspective. Next time we'll do the hike down to Roaring Springs and spend the hot part of the day at the springs. If I were rating just the room it would be a 2.5 but because of the location and access I give it a 4. YMMV

Room Tip: If you are staying in the motel style rooms ask for a room on the non-road side of the buildings. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    759
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
657
971
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The lodge and cabins were nice but the food was horrible and obscenely expensive and lousy. If you stay at the lodge be sure to eat in kenab. It's an hour away but well worth it. Also skip the great cookout experience, at $30 a person , the food was awful and the show was lame. Also they held the dessert hostage for those who put tips in the hat the staff held out. Horrible. We will be sure to stay in the campground or kenab next time

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IBtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I must say, we were a bit apprehensive about our stay at the Grand Canyon, after reading several negative comments. But, we were more than pleasantly surprised. Yes, the cabin is small & rustic, without a TV or A/C, but we were expecting that. The beds certainly weren't the most comfortable, but we also weren't expecting luxury. We were there for the scenery, the sunset, the sunrise, and a little bit of hiking on the trails. Oh, and the stars! Everything we came for was as good, or better, than we expected.

The main lodge restaurant is a bit pricey, but probably what you would expect as a captive audience. We did the nature trail with the ranger in the morning, and enjoyed that. Our five year old granddaughter also earned her Junior Ranger badge, so she was happy about that. It is a good program for the kids. It peaks their interest in looking for things, so I would definitely recommend it.

On the way out, we came across a herd of buffalo on the side of the road, and thought that was pretty neat. Having gone to both the South Rim and the North Rim, we would probably only go back now to the North Rim. It's hard to beat the trails right along the rim, and with very few people. It was great!

PS - If you have Verizon cell phone service, you can even pick up a signal out by the rim!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandBonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed one night in a motel room at the North Rim Lodge - the location is excellent, the room a little underwhelming. As long as you plan an active vacation and are only planning on using the motel room to sleep and shower, it's just fine! It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. However, the room is small and has no tv or wifi, so bring a book in case of bad weather or to relax before bed. As stated however, location is perfect; the rim is a minute's walk away, along with the store and restaurants within the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, the second in a choice, rim-view cabin. Even the desk clerk was excited that we had scored such a great room. The cabins are rustic and cute, just to my taste. Be aware that meals will be very expensive, so plan accordingly. The main dining hall, for which you'll need reservations, is especially pricey, but with a good menu and great service. I must say that service was impeccable here. Everyone was friendly and helpful--happy to work here. One quibble: 3 daddy long legs crept across my daughters' bed--part of being in the wilderness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesausten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The cabins isn't all that, but very cozy. And the area is one of the best in the world. Had been to the canyons south rim twice before, taking daytrips from vegas. This was a much better expirence. North rim is better in every way. Location one the rim itself. We where very lucky, 77 degrees, clear skys and it was all vey beautyful. Sunsets, sunrise and just a joy to sit down and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HankNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stay here every year the night before doing a rim-to-rim hike of the Grand Canyon. It is an absolutely ideal place to stay the night before for both proximity (nothing gets closer) so you can get an early start on the North Kaibab trail in the morning and spend the night beforehand soaking in the spectacular views (while sipping cocktails). The cabins are charming, but they are not luxurious. Think of it as upscale camping. The comfort of the beds are just ok and you might want to bring your own pillow if you are picky about that sort of thing. The bathrooms are cramped, but have all the basics (including hair dryers). I also really enjoy having coffee in the cafe which opens before the breakfast buffet. The restaurant is just ok and every year they seem overbooked/overwhelmed with the groups (despite having made reservations months ahead of time, they had overbooked and many in my group gave up on waiting for dinner). I wish they had better/healthier food in the pizzeria/deli as an alternative/addition to the restaurant. Reservations should be made well ahead of time (early fall).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hikingyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing