We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The cabins isn't all that, but very cozy. And the area is one of the best in the world. Had been to the canyons south rim twice before, taking daytrips from vegas. This was a much better expirence. North rim is better in every way. Location one the rim itself. We where very lucky, 77 degrees, clear skys and it was all vey beautyful. Sunsets, sunrise and just a joy to sit down and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,220 - 1,226 of 2,316 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stay here every year the night before doing a rim-to-rim hike of the Grand Canyon. It is an absolutely ideal place to stay the night before for both proximity (nothing gets closer) so you can get an early start on the North Kaibab trail in the morning and spend the night beforehand soaking in the spectacular views (while sipping cocktails). The cabins are charming, but they are not luxurious. Think of it as upscale camping. The comfort of the beds are just ok and you might want to bring your own pillow if you are picky about that sort of thing. The bathrooms are cramped, but have all the basics (including hair dryers). I also really enjoy having coffee in the cafe which opens before the breakfast buffet. The restaurant is just ok and every year they seem overbooked/overwhelmed with the groups (despite having made reservations months ahead of time, they had overbooked and many in my group gave up on waiting for dinner). I wish they had better/healthier food in the pizzeria/deli as an alternative/addition to the restaurant. Reservations should be made well ahead of time (early fall).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikingyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Western cabins #342. It had two full size beds. Despite of the size, we slept quite well. Beds were comfortable, with nice linens. The bathroom is small, but cute and very clean. The heater is a gas-log fireplace, that looks romantic. It had an air-condition unit also, though we didn't need it. The canyon is few steps away, and amazing. There are well paved trails for the lighter hikers. We didn't have time, but there are quite a few nice hiking trails around.

I red many negative reviews about the diner, food and the services. I was hesitant to eat there, but decided to do so for the views. We had a reservation for 730PM, just around sunset. While we waited, outside on the patio, a very friendly waiter was running around and offered us drinks and even food if we wanted. Then we got seated at the restaurant, and had the tomato mozzarella salad, that was excellent. My son ordered the half chicken, that was enough for all of us. The chicken was deliciously spiced and baked. It came with fresh potatoes, that was slightly oily, but very tasty. Our server was very nice, friendly and fast. So next morning we decided to have breakfast there. We had a lady server, who was not very friendly, but otherwise good and attentive. The food again was good and clean, with good gourmet coffee.
There are two other choices to eat. There is a store, that serve food, and a pub-looking place also, with pizza and other lighter choices.
Good for them, if they improved their services after criticism, or shame on bad reviewers.

Room Tip: Our room #342 was close to the main lodge, next to the road. Though cars are not allowed on that par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I just spent 2 nights in a Western Cabin at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. Wow, what a spectacular place. The cabin was clean and very nice. The beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean and worked fine, the room even had a small fridge. No TV, no internet (accept at the General Store - 1 mile away) and no cell phone service for most providers. Really makes it kind of peaceful.

Our cabin was right on the main street near the Lodge. Great location and close to everything, but EVERYONE walks past the front porch all hours of the day and night. It's kind of like camping with people that never camped. They don't understand that people are probably sleeping at 5:30 am, no camp manors.

Enough complaining. The Lodge is beautiful and the views are stunning. The main room is floor to ceiling windows looking out at the Canyon. They say the dining room has million dollar views and that's absolutely true. Wow.

The food is very good, the saloon has a wide selection of beverages and the staff was extremely polite and accommodating.

There are plenty of trails to hike for every level, all with different angles of the same stunning views. Keep in mind the elevation is 8500 ft, so the air is a bit thinner and you'll find it pretty easy to get winded.

I recommend the Ranger presentations. Ranger Kathy gave a great talk on how certain landmarks got their names, and Ranger Jake gave a fantastic presentation on John Wesley Powell and his expedition down the Colorado to explore the Canyon for the first time.

We also took a Mule ride. That is something we both recommend. We went with the 1 hour ride and really enjoyed the ride through the forest and along the Canyon, and hearing some facts and history about the area.

If you're thinking about going, start making plans to go. You won't regret it. We've already started talking about when to go back.

Room Tip: The farther from the main street, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed three days at the GCL (Frontier Cabins). I would advise staying in the larger cabins for few dollars more. The Frontier Cabins are very small, but you must remember you are at a very remote site, so big city expectations here are not good. Beds were comfortable, middle of the road conviences, but again very small. There is no wireless of any kind, no phone or TV, so young people have to adjust to not being connected. it was very nice to have all the quiet all the time, a bit of a struggle for younger folks. Crowds were very small, only sees approx 500K visitors per year compared to the South Rim at over 7 million. We never felt cramped by busloads of people. Views were majestic, trails good and the weather was awsome (50's in the morning and 70-80's in the afternoon at the rim (warmer in the sun). Perfect sitting areas across the back of the lodge to watch the sun come up and drink great coffee or equally good to watch the sun set. Rained every day with some beautiful storms to watch develop over the canyon. They did not last long and it was not very humid afterward. During rainy season, you should expect daily storms of moderate duration. Food in the lodge rest. was excellent, mid range on price, with the service a bit lacking but understandable. Mostly college age young folks waiting tables for the first time so don't expect first class service, but everyone very nice. Since there is no hurry to get anywhere, slower service can be a blessing of sorts to unwind a bit. Nice wines on the menu resonably priced, and some good mixed drinks. Overall a very good experience. My wife and daughter highly recommend the mule ride saying it was the highlight of the trip and not too pricey for a half day ride (Approx $80 each.) I would highly recommend this area for 3-4 days if you can manage your expectations to realize where you are and simply appreciate the beauty of it all.

Room Tip: Select the larger cabins if possible (not Frontier).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really like the North Rim. Much slower and more laid back than the South Rim. We were there for stargazing week and they had telescopes all over the back patio. Good times! Make sure you hike some of the wonderful trails in the area too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLorax1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

They have really upgraded their hotel experience in the past decade or so. Nice concrete paths link all the cabins to the main hotel lobby - a great boon for my handicapped mother in a wheel chair. We were in a very spacious handicapped room that allowed my mother to get around fine. Clean, modern fixtures, a small refrigerator.

The only real issue is the rather inconvenient parking situation with only one lot on the far side of the complex.

And, did I mention that they have a great view of a little canyon just out back?

Seriously, this is by far and away the best accommodations on the Kaibab plateau.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalosVerdesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,666 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,049 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $202 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing