We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven overlooking an amazing natural wonder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have never been to the south rim however after staying here on the north rim I probably won't in the future.

On arrival it is a bit chaotic as you cannot drive up to the reception area to check in and finding a park can be difficult.

We stayed in the cabins near the rim and found them to be so much better than Yellowstones Lake Lodge cabins. Relaxed in the rocking chairs on the cabin verandah watching chipmunks going about there daily business.


I loved the tranquility, seclusion and the scenic drive of the North Rim.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank redexcels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,320 - 1,326 of 2,330 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Couldn't get a cabin, so settled for a 'hotel' room, which was about what we had expected. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and bathroom although small had all we needed. We were on the backside of the building, and there was a small bench outside our room. Room looked out to a forested area, which was nicer than the front view of the street and parking lot. It was a short, but pleasant walk to the main lodge. Loved the intimacy of the North Rim, from the hotel we could walk to visitor center, Lodge, small deli. No wifi at Lodge, which was surprising, but we needed to do laundry and there was service at the general store near the laundry and camp grounds. Wonderful, and very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for backside of building, and center of building might be better, as stairway is on either end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Location is all here. You're right on the canyon rim and it's so much quieter than the south rim. However, they have no competition - they are the only accommodation on the north rim, the nearest alternative is 20 miles away - and it seems to have affected them. We waited a long time to check in - one desk clerk only and he was working very slowly. We had a table booked for dinner and had to wait for that because the restaurant was running slow. Then when we got out of dinner, having had a wonderful time with a guide with a telescope on the balcony outside, we found that the bar and the cafe were closing down - at about 9:00. The cabing we had was small and dark. In some ways, we were not sorry that we were only spending one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Most people visiting the Grand Canyon stay on the South Rim - don't. This place is far more secluded and feels more remote altogether. For a start, as the concierge said, 'our front drive is 45 miles long!'. You need to book early to get the best lodges on the rim itself (over a year ahead) but even the 'motel' accommodation is fine (we stayed in one of these rooms). As one of the other reviews says, don't expect luxury - this is rustic. You don't come here to sit in your room though - the views from the terrace, the restaurant and the short (but exposed) walk out along the ridge line path are all stunning. If the weather is bad just sit in the lounge and look out of the window! Sunset and sunrise are the best times - it is genuinely worth getting up at dawn, don't miss it. Try and catch one of the Park Ranger talks out by the log fire in the late afternoon - we saw one on the condors which was fascinating .

Remember to book early (i.e the minute you arrive or the day before) for dinner if you want to eat in the restaurant - they tend to get very busy with bus tours. The food is good, and reasonably priced considering the location. There are options - a cafe which does good breakfast choices, and a bar which does good coffee and other small dishes. There is also live music in the bar in the evening. There are plenty of great hiking options from the lodge, or nearby, to suit all standards from short strolls to hardcore hikes down into the canyon. The also organise mule rides from the front desk. The gift shop is pretty well stocked too if you want that kind of thing.

All-in-all this is the way to do the Grand Canyon if you want a more 'remote' experience than the honeypots of the south rim. Anyway, if you do want the south rim, they run a bus each day - it takes about 5 hours and looks fun (not!) - or you could always walk across!! Oh, and by the way, if travelling from the UK takes some Penguin biscuits - one of the receptionists loves them and will be your friend forever!

Room Tip: Book early - allow more than 12 months in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scareybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in one of the tiny cabins. This is not luxury accommodation but consider the remoteness of the location. The cabin was small and dark, and you could hear the people in the adjoining room very plainly. You do not want to discuss private matters or your criminal activity if so inclined. There is a lack of plug-ins and there is no TV or WiFi. The staff was friendly, but food choices are really limited. However the bed was fine, and the quiet and the clean air made for a great nights sleep.
However the North Rim is a great experience and this cabin and the lodge are a large part of it.
I spent one of the most enjoyable evenings in a while on the Lodge balcony, thanks to the Rangers, the photo ops, the great company of a Woman and her Twin Daughters, and the wonderful location.
This is what visiting the Grand Canyon was like 30 or 40 years ago, before the crowds and commercialization took over.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Western cabins are the best, by far. No AC but we took a fan. Get used to living with critters. Sit on porch, bees help you eat. Leave door open, Ground squrrels sneak inside and will get into anything. Jaybirds will squawk at you until you throw potato chips at them. A Chipmunk will take food away from a jay. Get there early enough and you get choice of cabins. We stayed in 359. It faces canyon and is back far enough from walking path to remain somewhat quiet. Go look at cabins and take four of five choices in before registering. Take cushons for front porch chairs! If these rooms were located on an interstate hwy they would not be graded very high, but location make these the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suggsrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the more moderately priced cabins. We had a cabin for four, it had two bedrooms one with a double bed and the other had bunks and a lounge/sofa bed (gas heaters in both rooms). The Cabins are rustic, don't expect 4-5 star. Everything was however clean and our bathroom was modern with good facilities. Getting your luggage to your cabin can be trickey as cars are not permitted into the Lodge area. Cars must park in a central parking area. So if you have a lot of luggage as we did, I would check in first at the Lodge, then arrange a Porter, they have golf buggies to take your luggage from your car in the central carpark, to your door. I highly recommend this, it makes it much easier, we are very glad we did it this way. The North Rim is an awesome place as you would expect. Our Cabin was about 5 minute walk from the Lodge itself. We watched the sun come up over the Canyon from the patio of the Lodge, make sure you do this, as this is a bucket list moment, we took some of the most amazing pictures. We then quickly walked to Bright Angel Point and got some more great photos. The cafateria onsite was ok and reasonably priced. The restaurant was better however it did cost a fair bit more, having said that, it is in a very remote location and for that, it was good value and good food. You are not going to eat five star here, if such matters are really important it may not be the place for you. We had three amazing days in this location, if you can, I suggest staying at the North Rim and have a day at the South Rim, both have good veiws although different, however the Southern side whilst having more expansive views is far busier and more commercial. The North Rim is at a higher elevation and as such, is an alpine location, its views are brilliant as well, because in sections the other side of the Canyon is so close and yet it is still so deep. I also really enjoyed the scenic drive in on Highway 67 to the North Rim.

If you are looking for the ultimate locations of the cabins you would want to book Cabins 306 - 310 these ones were right next to Lodge itself and the edge of the Canyon, you likely would get Canyon views out of the Cabin windows. The Cabins where these Cabins are located are more expensive per night as you would expect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JW_1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,750 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,109 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $204 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, bedfinder AG, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing