We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Canyon at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The Grand Canyon at it's best”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were there at the end of the season, but it was full all the time. Our cabins were attached and were quite pleasant. The lobby, with its view of the canyon is spectacular and the main restaurant is an great room with surprisingly wonderful food and top-tier service. My satay chicken was the best I've ever had. The hikes around and into the canyon are beyond description, but my feeling is that this is one of the top three wonders of the world. I also much prefer the north rim to the south rim; more trees, fewer people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    792
    405
    141
    66
See reviews for
683
1,011
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in a Wst Cabin, 349. Closed to ice machine, car park, rim and Lodge. Room cosy and quite acceptable for the price. The atmosphere at the North Rim is different to the South - less frenetic and more lay backed. The children liked this place better as it felt more isolated - it is! Views from the terrace at sunset spectacular. Food was mediocre, although breakfast in the dining room was nice, despite the pushy-types wanting a window table. I pity the staff putting up with these type of people, the first we struck in the USA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived at the end of the road at around 1 pm on a Tuesday after a 5 hour drive from Las Vegas (Be aware that State Troopers are everywhere along the route). Check in was easy. Parking is first come, first served so once we had a space we didn't move the car.

Our first view of the cabins was exciting as we had never stayed anywhere like this. They are real log cabins that have been broken into two rooms each with a connecting door between. I think they have been there quite a while but a modern bathroom has been added to each room, shower only. NO AIR CONDITIONING. In fact, the weather in August was quite mild and although it didn't rain while we were there, there was rain on the drive. There were both a double and a single bed in our room, coffee maker, desk and chair and that's about it. There were very few electric outlets so if you have a lot of chargeable items, the one essential accessory I would recommend bringing is a power strip.

The canyon is beautiful and there are many trails for walking along the rim. We saw a doe and her fawn on one hike. Remember that the lodge is at 8,300 ft. (2,530 m.)and so hiking is literally a breathtaking endeavor of it's own. The lodge offers a special chuck wagon dinner and show for about $30. It was fun and allowed us to see more of the area without walking.

They also have several lectures per day about the canyon, wildlife and conservation efforts. The talks are conducted by park rangers at the canyon overlook and are very good. Children are encouraged to get their Junior Ranger badges. Each night we were there, a telescope was available and we saw Jupiter and Mars. There's no WiFi at the lodge but my "smart" phone worked fine. We used "Google Sky" to identify various constellations. Unfortunately, a full moon kept us from seeing the milky way.

The lodge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and there is also a deli where you can get food during the day. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the lodge, and had lunch from the deli but were happy that we brought some snacks with us. There is a bar (mornings it serves coffee) next to the lodge and prices were reasonable considering the venue. There are also two souvenir shops where you can get almost anything canyon related.

In all, we enjoyed our stay. The rooms, as you can imagine were small but they were warm and we didn't spend much time in them except to sleep. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a front row seat to one of the wonders of the natural world. We will go back.

Room Tip: Book early. We booked 3 months in advance and got some of the last available (and smaller) rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amsr o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I stay here the last weekend in September. We stay in Western Cabin 344 which had a little view of RIM because it was blocked by the pine trees, Moon at night and bright sun shine in day. Our rocking chairs faced the Rim so we could sit out and see the rim and the trees, moon and stars. The room had a fireplace with we needed it was cool at night and warm in day time. Bring a lite jacket because the weather keeps changing depending on if you in the sun or shade. The food was great! But make reservation 6 months ahead of time. In all honesty I loved Zion more than Grand Canyon. Zion was just blod and bright and full of color the Canyon was a little dull with its colors because of the smog from Las Vegas and LA they folks said. No matter what time of day I could bever get a good picture of Canyon. But come and enjoy the Lodge its was the best trip my husband and I had together.

Room Tip: Book Early and get a Western Cabine with a RIM view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all, In terms of value, it's expensive. tha't for sure. But after all, If you want to stay at the North Rim, it's your only choice.
We had cabin #67. it wass small but cozy. I really liked the fact that they built all these cabins and they kept this chalet-style cachet. you really feel like in a mountain lodge.
The Service was great, we arrived early (11am) and we had our room keys right away.
The main lodge is very nice, with a beautiful lounge (breathtaking view!) and 2 terraces on each side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziedbelko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a west quadruple lodge .Trees between us and canyon. Very rustic Adequate accomodation.Two rocking chairs in porch,sat watching chipmunks going about their business.A must is a walk out to Angel point a breathtaking view of the canyon.Not busy at all.Restraunt not expensive not too fancy food ok.Check in staff excellent.Would highly recoommend a once in a lifetime experience.Lots of drives to view points worthwhile.Saw deer and wild turkeys

Room Tip: West cabins excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tig07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I think this place rests on its laurels as it is the ONLY place you can stay/ eat at the North Rim. Let's face it, the accommodation is like hunkering down in a Little Tikes play house. That I can live with. But the food at the restaurant is ATROCIOUS. Even the view doesn't make up for the muck they serve at a premium price. I ended up with a mushroom and a plate of brown rice with a dollop of something red. It sounded all very high-falluting and scrummy on the menu. The starter of hummous made from black-eyed peas was no better either.

Room Tip: Visit the Grand Canyon in a day and stay somewhere a distance away for walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMsMrsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,350 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing