We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice dinner, fantastic breakfast”

El Tovar Lodge Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner, fantastic breakfast”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had superior service at our dinner and great guidance from our waiter who helped steer us toward entrees that the restaurant did well (it was odd that there were some entrees that he absolutely did NOT recommend...the trout, for one). The meal was lovely - not high gourmet fare, but at least as good as most "nice" hotel restaurants. Do make reservations far in advance (as much as a month ahead.)

Our post-hike breakfast/brunch was fantastic. Huge portions, interesting combinations (I had some sort of a breakfast tortilla with chorizo, eggs, beans, peppers, rice and avocado and we didn't feel like eating again the rest of the day -- and this was after hiking down to 3 mile house on the Bright Angel trail and back that morning). Kind servers. Free refills on delicious fresh squeezed juice. The best espresso I've had outside Italy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,078
    1,418
    649
    228
    163
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overrated and Odd Service”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This restaurant is living in its past. It continues to try and be a classy, return to the past feel, but does not succeed. The chargers (plates that sit under dinner plates) look gaudy and fake, while the servers try to give off a polished and high-brow feel that only adds to the strange air of the experience. The food was mediocre at best (clearly the same food that Xanterra orders for all of their other restaurants) and the presentation was lacking. Finally, we ordered dessert and enjoyed it (a s'more cookie). When we received our bill, it was not on there. We were celebrating our honeymoon, so I thanked the server for her generosity in taking it off. She took the bill, examined it for a moment, left, and then returned with a new bill that included the dessert. She had simply forgotten to add the dessert, and instead of simply telling us to forget about it, she corrected the mistake. Perhaps I am being over-demanding, but never before have I seen something get added back to a bill after it was not included originally and a diner makes a grateful remark about it. Poor customer service that seems to suggest poor management as well. Not an enjoyable experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and great view”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We decided to eat here for our breakfast and we are glad that we did. We were seated quickly and had a great table right by the window and the view of the Canyon was great. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but the quality was very good and we all enjoyed our breakfast. Service was pretty good, although it took us 4 times to get our ketchup, but overall it was fine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhaas132016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch at Happy hour at El Tavor”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I wanted very much to stay at El Tavor. But anticipation for reservations are around 1 year.
As we were visiting the South Rim we went for lunch.

Very good options and prices and a very nice atmosphere. The hotel is 100 years old and preserved since than.

We had a table by the window with view over the canyon.

And at the end of the day we returned to the bar for a beer and wine waiting for sunset.

Recommend a visit to El Tavor.


Helpful?
Thank AnettePegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine Dinner, Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Food at the dinner was average, with some dishes better than others. We usually go with pastas when in doubt and the pastas here weren't disappointing. The fish (trout and salmon) were also good. However the next evening we felt a little more adventurous and went for the quail which turned out to be too salty. The desserts although looked very good tasted just ok. The server was friendly and the overall ambiance was good. We didn't regret dining here and will do it again, but will stick to pastas and fish next time and will skip desserts.

I must mention that breakfasts are great value. The portion was huge and keep us full all the way to Las Vegas on our departure day ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NPFanCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tovar Lodge Dining Room also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to El Tovar Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing