We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem within a gem”

El Tovar Lodge Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Soups, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A gem within a gem”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Was not expecting much - figured it would be a touristy version of "fine dining" - boy were we surprised! The food was fabulous, the service terrific - what a wonderful surprise! We had not read any reviews on it, as we had no idea we would end up there - but would definitely make it part of our plans the next visit. Kudos to all!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,078
    1,418
    649
    228
    163
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" When at the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The service was impeccable, the food was very good and the history can't be beat. This is a must do for breakfast right after the Canyon sunrise. Very enjoyable...and great coffee too !!!!

A warm and inviting place with a ton of history! Deer on the lawn in the morning also a nice touch too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKBOPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumrall, MS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome meal”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We loved our visit to this Historic Restaurant. The service was superb and the food was delicious!!! Our reservation was promptly honored and we had a great view of sunset in the canyon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent for Breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Recommended by Sunset Magazine for breakfast, it didn't disappoint at all! Excellent service, delicious omelettes and pancakes, in an amazing setting - open log ceiling and walls, nicely matching the main lodge lobby - quite stately!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ned K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting.”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely historic Lodge and dining room. Food was good but not spectacular. We had drinks on the outdoor patio overlooking the canyon and appetizers which we preferred over the more "fancy" indoor lodge dining room. Excellent service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tovar Lodge Dining Room also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to El Tovar Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing