We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hike”
Review of Rim Trail

Rim Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$699.00*
and up
Grand Canyon South Rim Air and Land Tour from Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic and level walking trail, which is easy enough to bring the kids.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love this hike”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

You can start and stop wherever you like with the shuttle bus! Breathtaking views! Start early for less people (especially in the summer). Most of the path is really pretty easy walking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hallidaysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    150
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The rim trail is an excellent way to see the canyon since it is accessible for everyone. Clearly marked paths tell you how far it is to each and every point along the rim. Plus the shuttle system can take you back to your car/ lodge if you decide you've had enough walking for the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith_Grubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Canyon”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am not a hiker but this trail was easy to walk and there are so many great spots for taking pictures, sitting down to rest and take in the scenery and eat your lunch.If you get tired you can always catch a shuttle at one of their many stops.Although it rained on both days we were there, we never really got wet. We seemed to be ahead of the storm and there were a number of covered spots to escape the rain.The map you get at the entrance to the park shows the spots on the trail, the shuttle and bathroom stops and where you can buy food.The shuttles run often.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Walk out, take the bus back”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The entire rim trail (Hermit's Rest to Bright Angel) was a long one, but easy. Very little elevation change. Lots of great vistas. Afternoon during mid-July "monsoon season" we got a little rain, and lots of wind - I was actually shivering. Even if it's a hot day, pack a poncho or jacket just in case, and something to protect fancy camera equipment.

We took the bus out and walked back but it would have been better the other way around. At 10-11am the bus lines at the red-blue transfer were VERY long, but much shorter at the stops further west. The bus makes more stops on the way out (west), and skips some of them on the way back. So, if you get tired or the weather gets bad and you decide to hop on a bus, you can still get out at every point on the way out toward Hermit's Rest. Hermit's Rest has water, restrooms, a little gift shop and cafe so you could rest in the shade and grab a bite before taking the bus back east to the lodges. They don't allow eating on the buses so make sure you finish your food before you board.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stefanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well maintained - easy walk for all ages”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a paved trail with lots of terrific places to sit and just stare out over the Canyon. We used this trail the morning we left El Tovar to begin our hike down to Phantom Ranch. It is well lit even at 4:00am.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sashamew133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Rim Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing