We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offers magnificent views without the crowds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rim Trail

Rim Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$699.00*
and up
Grand Canyon South Rim Air and Land Tour from Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic and level walking trail, which is easy enough to bring the kids.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Offers magnificent views without the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

When visiting the Grand Canyon for the first time, it is fun to hop on and off the shuttle buses, seeing all the magnificent vistas and hopefully it will have the same effect on you as it has on us. We have returned on a number of occasions to pull on our hiking boots, forget the buses and experience first hand some superb trails. The Rim Trail is one of the easier ones as it is flat but is not for the faint hearted as you get pretty close to the edge at some points. We would suggest that you still wear good sturdy footwear as some parts are a little uneven.
We have walked the trail on two occasions, one time from the parking area to Hermits Rest and the second in reverse, from Hermits Rest. On the latter, we took the shuttle bus to Hermits Rest and then commenced our walk. The trail is well maintained, some parts are even paved and suitable for wheelchair access, but by no means is it all.
If you are lucky enough you may see some wildlife along the way, but I can guarantee you will see some magnificent views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    143
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good way to see the canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We didn't do this whole trail, but we were on a lot of it. It's a good way to see the canyon without so many people around. Be warned though: if you don't like heights, some parts of this trail are very close to the edge without any railings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank clk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

When visiting the canyon, the only way to really see it is to put on your hiking shoes and walk the rim trail for as long as you can. The trail is well-maintained and flat - goes right along the canyon rim. You'll see the canyon from a number of vantage points and also see a number of animals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Easy going walk for great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a mainly paved trail serviced by free shuttle buses. Walk as far as you want to and then catch a bus back to the visitor centre where you've parked. Lots of informative displays along the way, a few benches, restrooms and water points too. Easily accessible for wheelchairs or pushchairs and enables you to escape the crowds around the visitor centre. Walking boots/shoes are not needed but comfortable shoes, water and a camera are a must!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We found the trail and the shuttle system to be just as other reviews have described. The trail offers spectacular views of the canyon from a variety of angles and is accessible to all. Also, you are able to observe how the sunlight alters the colors of the canyon walls, as the day advances. Not to be missed!

Helpful?
Thank MJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Rim Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing