We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bright Angel Bike Rentals and Tours

Bright Angel Bike Rentals and Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: See the Grand Canyon by Bicycle! Escape the crowds on roads closed to public traffic and beautiful green ways featuring the canyon's most majestic view points. We offer bicycle, tricycle and trailer rentals. If you'd rather have us show you around we also offer 2-3 hour tours with seasoned Grand Canyon guides. There are routes suitable for all fitness levels and ages. If you visit the rim - this is the way to see it. It's green, it's fun and it's affordable! We are the canyon's ONLY rental facility and we're conveniently located at the visitors center. You can book your rental or tour ahead online as well.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
saint martin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good bikes I even could decide which one I wanted .
Excellent guides they gave a lot of informations and jack is so crazy about Grand Canyon that you have to love it also . The tour is very informative and so fun for the children it was just perfect !! We had a tour during the afternoon and it was not too hot . I was impress by the calm during the tour , you just bike and you feel you re alone among this big canyon . It was not a big exercise and everyone can do it .
Just a very nice time !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank val97150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    43
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We tend to be a family that does the quick glance at lots of things. This was the perfect way to see the Grand Canyon in a short time. We were driving across Arizona and only had an afternoon. The kids had never seen the canyon and were complaining about going on a long bike ride in the heat. They changed their turn and had a blast. We did an afternoon Hermit Tour with Tomas and Jake. It was mostly flat or downhill. The freedom to see overlooks without the crowded bus and the informative guides was awesome. They did a great job relating to kids and adults and bringing the education to a nice balance of fun and learning. I couldn't recommend it higher. It was a bucket list kind of afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Great way to see and learn about the canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We took the 10 am Hopi Point tour with Dave and Cory. We figured our time was short in the park, so the tour would combine a fun activity with a chance to learn a bit about the canyon, the plants/wildlife that live in and around it, and the native peoples who call the area home.

The tour was perfect for us and we enjoyed it a lot. The 5.5 miles were mostly level or downhill, with one stretch of about .5 miles uphill just before the last long downhill deposits you at Hermit's Rest to catch the company's shuttle back to your car. You do feel the lower oxygen levels on that uphill stretch if you’re not used to the altitude and you should make sure you understand your bike’s gears to downshift to make it to the top of the hill easier.

You do want to bring water with you since it is an arid environment. Water refill faucets are only available at the start and end of the tour so bring enough for the couple hours of exploring even though this is not a high exertion activity.

The guides were fun and informative. We stopped at various overlooks along the way for information and photos. It was a relaxed tour.

We were very glad we did the tour and would recommend it as a fun way to see the canyon and get away from the crowds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2snorkel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Amazing, very informative, relaxing not a big exercising trip, a ton of great views, good info on geology and plants, excellent tour guides, not rushed, fun, and defiantly worth it! Enjoy! :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bking545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Awesome day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We headed to the bike hire near the visitor centre after breakfast and shopping for supplies for the day so weren't there especially early but there were still plenty of bikes available. We decided to cycle independently rather than take a tour, we knew we wanted to go to Hermits Rest so were given instructions on the way to pick up the route. Despite that we were not alone in getting a bit confused near the train station. However, once we were away from the public access areas this was an amazing experience. We cycled all the way to the end with only short breaks then used the journey back when we were more tired to stop at the view points we wanted to see. Although it was pretty hot we didn't seem to have a problem from this. We had done some of the rim using the shuttle bus the day before and, I can safely say that this way of seeing the rim if you can manage several hours cycling is much, much nicer. If you don't want to be out on a bike all day there are options for shorter hire periods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksMum2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bright Angel Bike Rentals and Tours also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Bright Angel Bike Rentals and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing