We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and felt really relaxed in the hotel room. It was really comfortable and quality - I especially liked the view from the room and enjoyed the lovely coffees provided in plentiful supply with the pod coffee maker. The hotel is true to its roots but maintains a high standard, making this feel luxurious - nice to have thick pile carpet and china to drink out of.
We found it a little hard to get here at night, driving 20 miles round the park by mistake thanks to the poor signposting. That really is my only criticism. Oh, and for the rate we paid it would have been nice to have had breakfast included.

Room Tip: Try to get a full view room - we had partial and really would have loved a full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corisande1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    363
    124
    22
    7
See reviews for
317
279
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our room was at the back of the lodge and didn't have a special view but it was comfortable and clean if a little dull inside but in keeping with the locality.The location is fantastic; its really worth staying in the Park to be able to spend time watching the colours of the rocks change with the sunlight . We also got up at 5 am to see the sun rise! It was chilly but another magical experience.
We enjoyed a private dinner in the Thunderbird room, the food, a buffet was very good with plenty of choice. Breakfast at Bright Angel lodge was fantastic - a great waiter, freshly cooked food and gluten free bread! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for a night and I highly recommend it to anyone coming to grand canyon. It is inside the park (on the rim) and what is better to see the rim outside your window when in the room. The surroundings are quiet in the night and its lovely. We dined at the bright angel restaurant and el tovar dining room and the food was nice. The staff is friendly and available 24 * 7. It is walkable to everything and all major shuttle bus stops.

Room Tip: Canyon facing room!! Select them over non-canyon view rooms of the El Tovar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed two nights and wouldn’t do it any other way. Just walk out of your room and in a few feet you’re standing on the rim on the canyon! Perfect for those early morning sunrise photos. We ate at two of the Bright Angel restaurants, conveniently right next door, and enjoyed our morning coffee at the coffee shop which opened at 6 a.m. Our last night, we sprung for a special dinner at the El Tovar Hotel, just a short walk (make reservations) and enjoyed browsing the historic hotel. The native dancers performing at the nearby Hopi House and the shopping were enjoyable. We knew from the hotel that parking was a premium, so we found a parking space and didn’t move the car. Fortunately, we could walk everywhere or take the free shuttle. The rooms were clean and quite adequate and had everything we needed. The rates increased at the beginning of the year, which was a surprise to us. We were informed an email had gone out. Sure enough, when I got home, I searched through my emails and I HAD received the rate increase notice months before. Have stayed here before and will stay here again. There’s so much to miss if you stay outside the park. Note: rooms were on the second floor and there is no elevator.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DiM277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked a partial Canyon View room and had a great view. The room was clean and comfortable. The best part was sleeping with the windows open which allowed a spectacular breeze from the canyon that put us right to sleep. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jada6_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days here at the Grand Canyon and we had a ground floor room in this lodge. Well you could not ask for any better location. Looking out onto the canyon in the morning and evening from the room was a bonus.

Bright Angel lodge was perfect for eating and the location here meant that you could leave the car for the whole visit and use the free shuttle busses.

I don't think you could get better for a National Park location.

The room was very clean and perfect in keeping with the location. Kachina lodge is next door and in a similar position for views of the canyon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The only real reason to stay at the Thunderbird Lodge is the location. Rooms are very small, and not terribly comfortable, although they are clean and look to have been updated fairly recently. It's also very loud - you can hear every word that anyone passing in the hall says. Overall, the Lodge is not terrible, not great, just ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roscommon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Canyon Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing