We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

How can seeing the best wonder in America get any better than with a stay in this lodge?
I had a Rim Side room.
It was clean. Had a decent amount of space. The perfect amen I ties for a trip to The Grand Canyon.
I absolutely could not ask for any more with the accommodations.
Never have paid $200 for one night in a hotel room before....but it certainly was worth it....and would be maybe once a year for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAYLOR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our Thunderbird Lodge. The recent renovation has been well received and we are proud of the condition of the rooms. I am glad that the room complemented your stay at Grand Canyon!

Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    363
    124
    22
    7
See reviews for
317
279
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being in the park is definitely the way to go. We didn't have a canyon side room, but it didn't matter. Just being in the park was a huge convenience. No having to build in extra time for activities with driving and worrying about parking and getting on the shuttle. It is next to the Bright Angel Lodge which has two restaurants and a nice gift shop. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staying in the park is great and being on the south rim, even better. We lucked out and got 2 nights here when we called up to see if there was anything available (we didn't booked a year in advance). We weren't given a room with a "view" but just being able to be in the park made up for that. The room was nothing fancy, but very clean and nice with a mini refrigerator. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendota heights
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

For national park lodge, was pretty updated. Cable TV, wireless internet (though slow connection), mini-fridge, air conditioning. Had a room with view overlooking the canyon. Easy walking along the rim trail any time. Elk were on the yard every evening. Easy location to restaurants and other nearby lodges.

Room Tip: canyon view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy. It is not a five star luxury hotel but the rooms are clean and updated and we opened our curtains and had a great view of the canyon. At night we walked out and there were Mule Deer walking on the lawn right below our balcony. The main thing we loved about it was the location. We were right on the rim. The park bus system picked up in front of the hotel and down the street. There were also two good restaurants right next door and several others within walking distance. We were able to get up early to beat the heat when we went hiking and didn't need to drive anywhere to get started. The Bright Angel Trail was a short walk away. Everything we needed was within walking distance or a short bus ride. We parked our car and just left it in the same spot for a few days while we explored. One note is that if you are arriving after dark bring a flashlight with you. It was a little tricky finding our way around after dark the first night. Overall it is a great place to spend a few days when visiting the canyon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the Thunderbird Lodge. The location is great, and the recent renovations to the guest rooms are well received. The elk are everywhere these days!
And good advice to bring a flashlight.

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Simple but clean rooms. No frills. The location is great, but parking your car anywhere near it can be a challenge, as the spots are for anyone visiting the park. The Park Elk feed on the lawn outside the hotel at dusk and seem oblivious to us ... Really cool !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

That says it all. This hotel is terrific. It was amazing to wake up in the a.m. and walked to the rim. Hotel was clean and updated. Beds are super comfy! Elk out on the front lawn every evening. We had 4 in our room (2 teens and 2 adults) and had a wonderful time.Never had a problem with noise or temperature.
Only minor complaint...like everyone else is the parking. Find a spot and don't leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mobay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: Canyon Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing