We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Thunderbird Lodge, Grand Canyon”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed one night at the Thunderbird Lodge since we arrived late and then camped for 2 nights. The signs in the park are not the greatest, especially arriving after dark. We were at the Lodge but had a little difficulty identifying it and trying to find out where reception was until we noticed a small sign on a door that said reception was at Kachina Lodge. Everything was fine, the room was nice, recently redone, but small. They have WiFi in the lobby at Kachina, and they say they are installing it for the rooms but it was not ready yet. Somewhat expensive and we were on the street side, on the other side you would have a view of the canyon from your window. Convenient, but if I did it over again I would stay at one of the hotels in Tusayan. The only thing is that if you arrive in the park after hours there is no one to pay the entrance fee to, and as long as you don't leave the park no one checks. We actually tried to pay the campground attendant the next day but he couldn't do it. That saved some money but not nearly as much as staying outside the park would have.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCPOPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 774 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Being the best in this town is not saying much. Well, ok let me step back. It's better than I was expecting. The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The rooms were ok. You can tell it's old and beat up as everything was outdated... but, at least it was clean. The Location being right on the grand canyon rim was fantastic... you can't beat it. We drove out to the town right outside the park and was so thankful that we stayed in the park as the town outside was a beat up looking place and probably worse from the looks of it. (The food and lodging just look disgusting and beat up). STAY IN THE PARK! Well, this is kinda like being in an airport... you're caught with what they have because the next decent meal is hours and hours away. The cafe and food scene needs a lot of help though... at least it was costing you an arm and a leg... but if you're looking to eat something clean and healthy, you might want to pack your own food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GuamTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Thunderbird Lodge is a great place to stay because of its location on the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. Keep in mind that you are staying in a National Park, so it is dated, but it's very clean and the people are helpful. It was cold in November, but perfect for us! Loved our stay (except for the rough towels). Watch out for the elk -- they are huge and roam through the lodge area. Have a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We loved staying on the rim - waking up each morning to the incredible views of the Canyon - strolling to the Bright Angel for breakfast and one dinner. It's location is perfect - especially in November when it gets dark early and cool at night. No crowds at the park - totally serene - stargazing at night!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Right on the rim...roomy, clean, smallish bathroom, quiet enough. Considering the location, its hard to ask for more. It is, however, a pain to park ... you may have to park quite a distance from your room. Close to El Tovar and shuttles (use 'em....its the only way to get around).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

On my first visit to GCNP I stayed at Thunderbird, and would do it again in a heartbeat. Room was very clean, nice linens, nicely decorated in muted tones, and had definitely been recently updated ... staff said within the last year. Bathroom was not large but well appointed. A dark wood built in closet, plus coffee setup and refrigerator were efficiently small. Granite topped desk had built-in strip of electrical outlets for charging all electronics. Unfortunately could only get wi-fi access in lobby of Bright Angel Lodge, next door, but that was enough for me and several folks hung out there at different times of day to check on their emails beside the big stone fireplace. If you are checking in after dark, beware of the dark! It is really dark along the walkways and between buildings so it is good to have a flashlight. Carrying our luggage from the car in the dark, my brother and I actually mistook a huge bull elk, sitting on the grass outside Thunderbird, for a bronze statue. Good thing we decided against walking up to take a closer look. When it turned its head, with huge rack of antlers, we realized it was no statue! Thunderbird is <100 ft from the canyon rim. I might not have been able to stare into the canyon from my 1st floor room, but at night I could hear the cow elk munching grass just outside my window. Wow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulaTravels65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Let's be honest, All you need when visiting the Grand Canyon is a moderately comfortable and clean rooom, if the rim of the Canyon is only 30 seconds walk away then that's a bonus. Yes the room was over priced but not so it was out of reach financially. The staff at reception (you deal with the staff at Bright Angel adjacent to Thunderbird) were quite outstanding and everyone friendly and outgoing.and the room quite comfortable clean and featured a safe and coffee facilities - the latter necessarywhen you get up for the spectacular sunrise. I'd stay here again but if you want 5 stat luxury this isnt the place for you.. .

Room Tip: I had ground floor and no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CBSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Address: Canyon Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $218 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing