We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thunderbird Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
El Tovar Hotel(Grand Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maswik Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Yavapai Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveler rating
224
407
140
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
407
140
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspartial viewbright angelfirst floorgrand canyonsouth rimel tovarcanyon viewarizona roomkeurig coffee makernational parkfloor roomshort walkbus tourwatch the sunriseliterally stepsdining optionsbeds were comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 804 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were fortunate to reserve 3 nights at the Lodge. The exterior of the Lodge is very dated, reminding me of a 1960's Howard Johnson. The room itself had been updated and was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bed was queen size and very nice. One huge demerit is the incomprehensible lack of any Internet service in the Lodge. Verizon had good 3G service in the area, but that is no substitute for the wireless service now available almost everywhere. It was available in the lobby of the Bright Angel lodge, but that is not acceptable in 2012. They were also working on the roof during our stay but we got up about the time they started anyway. The parking situation is completely ridiculous. Valet parking should be offered given the rates charged as well as to better manage the mess. I got incredibly lucky when someone pulled out from the on street parking and I grabbed the spot. The car stayed there until we left! The location was excellent. Unfortunately the negatives of this Lodge are significant, which is why I rated it average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BuddyPUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

You only have a few choices at the rim, and all are in demand. The room was fine. Nothing fancy, but clean. Small bath, but perfectly functional. We made the reservations 6 months prior to our stay. We got there and found they were working on the roof. Fortunately, during the hours we were out. The place looks kind of like a 1960s office building rather than a lodge. If that is important to you, pay a lot more for the lodge.

The heat lamp in our room was broken and although we reported it when we arrived, it was not fixed during our 3 night stay.

The best is, you cant beat the location and fun of staying right on the canyon rim.

Room Tip: Parking is terrible. If you arrive late, it might be easier. Otherwise, be patient and circle. Leave the car parked and use the bus while there. Also, we got there at 3 and had to wait for our room. Dont expect early check in.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jck123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed last week - two sons 16 and 21. Expected a "dorm room" from previous posts - we thought the room was spacious, good quality, nice linens and beds and recently renovated. Bath products in the bathroom were actually quite lovely as well.

Wonderful Bright Angel Lodge right next door - nice lobby to check in; top rate souveneir shop (open late!) and a wonderful restaurant. Surprising array of menu items, reasonable prices and excellent service. We had dinner and breakfast there - large portions as well.

And as others have said - astonishing views/trails - just 50 feet away. I would highly recommend. Also - if the web site claims they're full - just call the 800 #. We literally booked the room 2 days before we arrived....!

Room Tip: They're all the same - don't sweat about the view, etc - just walk outside and it's all right there! You may hear lots of elk noises at night - they literally roam the area near the hotel an are quite beautiful!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momandson_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Thunderbird Lodge for 3 nights in September. This lodge appears to be by far the best of the Grand Canyon lodges for having a view. Keep in mind the "partial" part of the "partial view" rooms apparently refers to the fact that all of these rooms are second floor rooms that overlook the roof line of the first floor. However, they still provide a fantastic full view of the canyon from the room. These rooms do have exterior "motel type" entrances, but this was fine for our stay. The El Tovar is great for a historic hotel, and the Bright Angel (where the checkin is for the Thunderbird) is a nice lodge setting, but neither appear to have any rooms that would have the views available from the Thunderbird Lodge. By the way, this was our first visit to the Grand Canyon and we felt that 3 nights would provide us with plenty of time, but there is so much to see and do that we wish we had booked longer. Then again, we booked "only" 11.5 months in advance and the 3 nights was all that was available! As others have mentioned, be sure you try booking a year in advance of when you want to stay. If we visit the Canyon again, we'll definately stay at Thunderbird Lodge next time as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room with a view, but keep in mind these are second floor rooms with no elevator available.
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jon&Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our overnight stay at the Grand Canyon was not planned. A road closure necessitated that we turn around from our day trip back into the Park and spend the night. A most courteous staff showed us to the last room available, which we gladly snagged. The room was throwing distance from the rim of the Grand Canyon, and in the morning there were elk (including a mother and nursing calf) right outside our window. We were told that our room was refurbished a year ago, and it was clean and comfortable. I'd compare it to a glorified Best Western. For one or two nights it was great, but if you want to spend a lot of time in the room, this isn't the place for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canyon side.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spotlight0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews