We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thunderbird Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Yavapai Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)(Great Value!)
$255
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$463
$370
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Tovar Hotel(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maswik Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveler rating
224
407
140
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
407
140
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspartial viewbright angelfirst floorgrand canyonsouth rimel tovarcanyon viewarizona roomkeurig coffee makernational parkfloor roomshort walkbus tourwatch the sunriseliterally stepsdining optionsbeds were comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 804 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Location wise this hotel was perfect, sat right in the middle of the Grand Canyon Village.

However, apart from the view everything else was a challenge.
Firstly they do not have anywhere near enough parking for hotel guests. It is a lottery if you can park outside the hotel or a 15 minute walk away.
Secondly you have to check in at a nearby hotel, which means the parking hassles happen twice
Then there is the problem of no lifts in the hotel, which is not fun if you have a Canyon View room on the top floor.
There are no hotel staff based at this location, so if something goes wrong you have to go to the other hotel to sort it
There is no wi-fi and television reception in the room was poor with only half the channels working properly.
The local shop sells lots of postcards and has a postbox, but they aren't very polite when you ask for Stamps. Apparently only the Post Office can sell them which means gambling on moving your car to get them (see above) or sitting on a bus for 20 minutes to buy them.

However, the view truly was stunning and the location perfect.
Would I stay again - Highly Unlikely.

Room Tip: No lifts so don't accept a top floor if you can't lift your bags up them.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Better room than we had on the North Rim but not the best on our trip, however...you walk out the door and there is the rim of the Canyon with a spectacular view. That's what you get when yoj book into this place. It was completely booked when I made the reservation and when we checked in. No surprise there. There was a lot of construction going on and we were never advised of that when we made the reservation. Not a good policy at all. Parking can be a problem in those lodges as well, especially with the construction. Another was our bed. Rarely do I complain about that because today most accommodations, even lower end ones provide quality mattresses. This was way too soft and I spent two nights in the hole my husbands larger body created.in the center of the mattress. That wasn't so comfortable. Our early morning expedition to catch the sunrise on the Canyon enabled us to run into a elk family complete with a big stag. They were dining on the lawn in front of the lodges. Seemed undisturbed by the people around. Pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was on the rim and no complaints,. Was it worth the extra money to be near the rim? That is debatable. I think that would have done just as well back further in the park as we didn't get into our room much before dinner and it was dark so nothing to see. I fing it amusing that the cheap motels seem to have wifi in each room. The more expensive lodges on every occasion only had poor reception in the foyer.There was construction fencing outside our roo between us and the view we should have been told.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sainty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a partial view room and it really should have been called 'sliver view' because we had a very tiny view of a small portion of the Grand Canyon.

The room was very old and dated. The bathroom door didn't close, walls were dirty, furnishings were very old. Overall decor was bad.

BUT....we were barely in our room. The location was fantastic. You are STEPS from the Grand Canyon so it was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for a night and just happened to luck into a room due to a cancellation. Room was modest but clean and the view from the South Rim was unbelievable! Parking was at a premium for sure, so my suggestion would be to drop your bags and then find a spot. Hotel is literally 50 feet from the rim of the canyon. The night sky here was about as free of backlighting as anywhere you'll find. We saw several shooting stars on a short walk after dinner.

The place had a very dated feel to it...think 80's college dorm room with a spectacular view. With all there is to do in the area I doubt you'll be spending much time in the room anyway. Elk were everywhere and didn't seem to mind or notice the cars, people and cameras.

Several restaurants within walking distance and a supermarket with pretty much anything you could want, including quite the international staff, is a very short drive away. Scenic Rail station is directly behind the hotel. We had excellent cell coverage here (AT&T) and noticed the only cell tower we'd seen in awhile was right behind the hotel as well. I don't recall having wireless internet service there. I also don't recall seeing an elevator in the hotel, but surely there was??

In summary, OK place in a GREAT spot. $190 is what we paid for a night, but we did just show up and take whatever we could get. I can't imagine spending a week here, but for a stop on a long trip it was a great change of pace!

Room Tip: Getting there earlier in the day might make it easier to find a parking spot!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capybara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews