We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rim to Rim”

The Wildland Trekking Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wildland Trekking Company provides exceptional Grand Canyon hiking tours and backpacking trips in Grand Canyon National Park and to the famous Havasupai Waterfalls in Grand Canyon West. Our Grand Canyon hiking tours range from day hikes to all-inclusive, multi-day Grand Canyon backpacking trips to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River. We also offer inn-based Grand Canyon hiking tours to Phantom Ranch as well as hiking packages (inn-based and basecamp) from both rims. When it comes to Grand Canyon hiking, we're the experts! We've earned recognition in Backpacker Magazine, Men's Health, Sunset, and Lonely Planet Traveler, as well as on the Discovery Channel. Come join us for a Grand Canyon hiking adventure you'll never forget!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Meeker, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rim to Rim”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I just completed a Rim to Rim 4-day backpacking trip with Wildland Trekking. What a fantastic experience! Our guide Chris Updike was absolutely first class in everything he did. From his knowledge of the canyon/backpacking to his cooking abilities, we would put him up against anyone... first rate. The pre-trip relationships were great with the staff in setting up the trip, the equipment was in great condition if not brand new, the food was great, and the entire experience was above and beyond what we expected. With temperatures nearly 108 on a couple of days, Chris kept us motivated and thoroughly enjoying the trip the entire time. Many thanks to the staff of Wildland Trekking, Ryan (our driver who we immensely enjoyed) and especially our guide Chris........ We'll be back!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DKNBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,448
    24
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hermit Loop”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic 4-day trip in the Grand Canyon. It was my first visit and it's hard to imagine a better way to see/experience everything it has to offer. Chris is a stellar guide; helpful, friendly, knowledgeable, well-prepared, and a great cook to boot. I loved that we were able to squeeze in a day hike down to a great spot on the Colorado River, where we relaxed on a beach for a few hours before heading back to camp (which included a little scrambling - a nice surprise). Would highly recommend the company and the guide to everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Backpacking in the Black Canyon of Yellowstone National Park”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just finished a four day backpacking trip through the Black Canyon with guides Merik Morgan and Russ Nordstrand of Wildland Trekking Co. The trip was phenomenal. Amazing, knowledgeable (and funny) guides, great food, stunning campsites and breathtaking views. This is a must go trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day hike”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Being our first time at the Grand Canyon and only having one day to see it we knew we needed someone to guide us in order to see as much as we could. After a bit of research we settled on The Wildland Trekking Company and are so glad we did! Our guide Shanye was AWESOME!! We spent an amazing day hiking into the canyon. Shanye communicated with us before hand exactly what to wear and bring so we were very prepared. He provided great snacks and an incredible lunch to keep us energized the entire way. We came away with so much knowledge of the canyon, some wonderful pictures and a new friend! Would definitely recommend it, worth every penny! Thanks Shanye!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hermit Loop”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My Son and I just finished our second Grand Canyon backpacking trip with Wildland Trekking. Our second trip was every bit as amazing and enjoyable as the first one. Wildland provides good quality gear, delicious food, and the best guides in the canyon. Our guide this year, Tiffany, seemed to know everything there is to know about the Grand Canyon history and geology. Like our guide last year, she did an excellent job from the first minute to the last and I'm led to believe that Wildland attracts and employs the best guides in the area.

Our Hermit Loop trip took us down the The Hermit Trail to Hermit Creek (camp), across the Tonto trail to Monument Creek (camp) and Horn Creek (camp), and then up the Bright Angel trail. The Hermit Trail is unmaintained and can be challenging in a few places but is not nearly as difficult as the terrain we encountered in the East of the canyon last year. The highlight of the our trip was a spending the day a Granite Rapids. The worst part was on the last day hiking up the Bright Angel trail and dealing with the runners coming down (most were rude and inconsiderate to everyone else using the trails) and returning to the crowds on the rim. You don't realize how much you have adjusted to the wilderness until you return to the buzz of civilization.

Don't attempt a Grand Canyon backpacking trip unless you are in good physical shape and have trained for several months. Most multi-day trips involve hikes of up to 10 miles carrying a pack with 25-35 lbs up and down elevation. Do yourself a favor and follow Wildland Trekking's advice for conditioning. My personal recommendation is to spend a few days in Sedona or Utah doing a few day hikes just before you go on your overnight. You'll enjoy it much more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jazznoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wildland Trekking Company also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to The Wildland Trekking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing