We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great adventure and guides in Yellowstone”

The Wildland Trekking Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wildland Trekking Company provides exceptional Grand Canyon hiking tours and backpacking trips in Grand Canyon National Park and to the famous Havasupai Waterfalls in Grand Canyon West. Our Grand Canyon hiking tours range from day hikes to all-inclusive, multi-day Grand Canyon backpacking trips to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River. We also offer inn-based Grand Canyon hiking tours to Phantom Ranch as well as hiking packages (inn-based and basecamp) from both rims. When it comes to Grand Canyon hiking, we're the experts! We've earned recognition in Backpacker Magazine, Men's Health, Sunset, and Lonely Planet Traveler, as well as on the Discovery Channel. Come join us for a Grand Canyon hiking adventure you'll never forget!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great adventure and guides in Yellowstone”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

...just perfect...
We booked a trip In Yellowstone in August 2011 with wildland trekking company. They gave us all we had to know to plan our family trip in Yellowstone. The meeting with The guide in our motel The day before trip was helpful, giving us a lot of informations about wildlife (bears). The 5 days trip was great, Beautiful landscapes, tasty food and great guides! Thank's Scott and Tom.
We hope We'll be able to do a New trip with wildlife trekking company!
Olivier and family (70, 46,45,11 and 9 years old), Switzerland.

Helpful?
3 Thank Oli1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,468
    24
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wildland Trekking made the Grand Canyon accessible and safe”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I hired a guide from Wildland Trekking (WT) to take us down into the Grand Canyon on a four-day backpacking adventure. We followed the New Hance trail to Hance Rapids, then up along the Tonto Platform to Horseshoe Mesa and the Grandview Trail back to the rim. It was a tough hike, but absolutely gorgeous and awe-inspiring. WT was great in setting up the trip. Our guide, Chris, met us at our hotel and helped us choose the right equipment, and on the trail prepared meals, bandaged a sprained ankle and a twisted knee, and found water in the desert (and carried it, too!)...all while encouraging us onward with good humor and a watchful eye for safety. We absolutely could not have done this trip without Chris!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dave_n_Michelle_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HAvasu Falls with Wildland Trraking”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

What an amazing 3 day Hike with had with Eddie Bowers. The 3 day hike was so much more than we expected (including the scarey parts!!) and was made even better by the excellent skills that Eddie has. Not only is he a knowledgeable and interesting guide, he instilled such confidence in us that when we got to some 'interesting' parts, we had no hesitation in knowing we could tackle the challenge.
The scenary, the colours, the waterfalls , the night sky, the blue sky - was just 'awesome'
He also is a great cook – how he rustled up such excellent meals we have no idea – lunch and dinner & breakfast and we even had appetizers and dessert with dinner!–he also ensured we were well stocked with energy bars and water constantly. He took such excellent care of us, that we were grateful not to have to do anything - even though we asked – at the end of the hike or when packing up. He is so orderly that it would have taken longer if we did ‘interfere’.
He has great guiding and natural leadership skills that many people would envy!
We all agreed that we definitely will be coming back and will definitely be asking for Eddie to be our guide. Wildland Treking really does provide superb Customer Service and i am sure the other guides are great too.
Tip for people doing this is to prepare for it with training specifically your legs and core- it makes recovery easier and the trip that much more fun.
Thanks Eddie and thanks WildLand Treking

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank HJO56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awesome!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our Grand Canyon Classic Tour that was booked through the Wildland Trekking Company. It was the best vacation we have ever taken. They were excellent at getting back to me every time I sent them an email with questions. Every single interaction was easy and I never felt like a bother. There was a mother with her two teenage boys that were part of our hiking group. Although we had never met them prior to the trip, we all got along famously and I already miss them. Shayne Hall was our tour guide and I feel like we really hit the lottery having such a great person to hike and camp with. He was very open about his experiences in the Grand Canyon and also shared hilarious stories that kept us all laughing the entire time. This trip was completely affordable but I would pay ten times what I did because it would be totally worth it! We are already planning a return to the Grand Canyon next year. Thank you Wildland Trekking Company!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jadebarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“awesome trip, excellent guide, totally fantastic in EVERY way!”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were six strangers at the beginning, but by the end of the trip, we were old friends. I did the Grand Canyon Classic, and it was a great intro to the Canyon and its wonders. The scenery was, of course, spectacular, as was the guide, the food she prepared and her informative comments. I HIGHLY recommend this trip to anyone with a pretty good level of fitness and sense of adventure!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 5807tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wildland Trekking Company also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to The Wildland Trekking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing