We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Landmarks Tour by Airplane
More Info
$164.99*
and up
Grand Canyon West Rim Airplane Tour
More Info
$299.99*
and up
Best of the West Rim: Grand Canyon Air Tour with Optional Helicopter, Boat Ride...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1965, The Papillon Group has been providing visitors a privileged perspective to one of the world's greatest natural wonders. Papillon is the only company flying the entire Grand Canyon, including areas untouched by man and inaccessible by foot. As one of the world's oldest and largest sightseeing companies, Papillon flies an estimated 600,000 passengers a year on its daily tours to the Grand Canyon and the surrounding southwest. Recognized world wide for its aircraft tours, Papillon's fleet of 70 helicopters and airplanes gives guests a bird's eye view all their own. Whether by helicopter, plane, or coach, Papillon offers more than 40 unique excursions. Choose from air only flights, combo tours, all-day excursions, or a stunning flight to the bottom of the Grand Canyon.
Lansing, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I went here for our 8th year anniversary. We chose this company because of cost efficient for the land/sky package that they offered. We purchased the safari jeep tour. It was awesome. A bit hot because there wasn't any windows open but very memorable none the less. When we told the pilot that it was our anniversary he played "Just the two of us" by Bill Withers. That was special. We saw so much of the grand canyon overhead and took pictures galore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GodPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    191
    66
    37
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PAPILLLON-DON'T FLY WITH THEM!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Although the flight was a wonderful experience everything else was horrible. From our 1st phone call to our last phone call and all the contact w/ their employees in between was constant rudeness. They run you through like cattle going to a slaughter house.We paid 2x as much money to fly w/them as we did taking a jeep tour w/Pink Jeeps & from a touring experience I would NEVER recommend Papillon. On top of all their rudeness they would not honor the 2 $10 coupons that brought our business to them! The flight was enjoyable, but fly w/ another company!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunburyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Boring Flight”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Was really looking forward to this flight, but i'm afraid it was BORING. Stayed at the same flight level for the whole flight. Hardly any interaction with the pilot. Not worth the money.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cancelled the trip with zero notice”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Unfortunately they cancelled our trip with practically no notice. We phoned up to confirm 24hrs ahead as requested, but were told our trip was cancelled. No excuse was offered. We were offered an alternative trip, but it would have been three days after we had left Vegas for LA and four days after our original booking date. Very disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had read reviews of the helicopter rides prior to our visit to the Grand Canyon, which reviews led me to the purchase of the luxury flights. THIS is the way to see the Grand Canyon. The trails around the canyon had me nervous walking along it... the helicopter ride was the opposite (which is not expected). At no time during the ride did I experience anything close to fear. The pilot expertly flew the helicopter gracefully over the terrain and canyon. A+++ experience. Flying over the green trees and then the great expanse of canyon under you while listening to 2001 Space Odyssey was simply amazing. No words can prepare you for this experience. Surreal.

The only things I could suggest to make this experience perfect would be to provide better directions to the luxury copters (second port past garage building), and to replace the grumps behind the welcome desk. However, once you got beyond the impatient man checking you in, you'll likely experience a wonderful crew who apparently enjoy their jobs. :) Kudos!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters also viewed

 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Papillon Grand Canyon Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing