We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rim to Rim stop”

Cottonwood Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottonwood Campground
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We went R2R and this was our first stop coming down from the North Rim. It's near Bright Angel Creek and the trail cuts right through the campground. It has water and bathrooms. Most sites had shade with a few without. It was a good stop before heading on down to Phantom Ranch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Cottonwood Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Very small - 11 sites/1 group site. Permit needed from Backcountry Office to camp here. http://www.nps.gov/grca/planyourvisit/backcountry-permit.htm
First come, first choice - some sites near the Bright Angel Creek, some sites with shade. Site comes with a picnic table, metal boxes for food protection and T-pole to hang backpacks from.
Pit toilets, drinking water available (seasonal), ranger station (seasonal) with day-use area (with cover), first aid kit, emergency phone available. No cell reception in the area. Carry in/carry out all trash. No campfires allowed.
Do not underestimate the hike to get here: The walk from the North Kaibab trail head to Cottonwood Campground covers 6.8 miles and drops 3,170 feet -- nearly a half-mile longer than the entire length of the South Kaibab Trail, with nearly three-quarters of the vertical drop.
We visited during a lightning storm. When nightfall comes, it is DARK! Definitely an adventure.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
11  Thank EmTeeNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Cottonwood Campground is located down in the Grand Canyon on the North Kaibab Trail. From the North Rim, it takes a hike of approx. 6.8 miles, all downhill. You need a permit to stay at this campground site. We made the trip in June when it would be 100 degrees F. down in the Canyon during the day and 75 degrees at night. However, since the day was overcast, it cooled down below 70 degrees at night. We had emergency blankets with us, so we used those and were quite comfortable. There are no showers, and the toilets are pit toilets. I was impressed that the toilets were not smelly at all. There is not much shade at the tent sites, so if it's hot you may need to hike out a little and find some shade to spend the day. One thing to watch out for is if you want to walk down to the nearby creek, just step carefully. There are lots of loose rocks around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sisterhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Polecam zająć miejsce pod drzewem.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
5.5 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,528 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,989 reviews
6.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
11.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
10.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Campground

Address: North Kaibab Trail, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 14 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottonwood Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing