We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground”
Review of Mather Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mather Campground
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice campground”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had site 104 and it was spacious with a table and fire ring. Unfortunately it was fire season so no campfire. It was very private and at night somewhat creepy since there are no lights what so ever. Bathrooms are decent and they have water near the campsites. We stayed 2 nights, didn't spend much time at the site since we were out seeing the stunning canyon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CubMom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    242
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
179
248
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The campground is in a great location! Our site was #105. The showers were not nearby but the bathrooms were not too far. The site was well spaced away from other sites.
At night we were woken up by something that sounded like coyotes howling at one another nearby!!!
There is a shuttle stop at the campground for the Grand Canyon.
We paid $18.00 for the site.
Advanced reservations are recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muchfuntotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arriving after dark, we coincided with the first night of the off-peak season just after Thanksgiving and the campsite was free! Only had to pay if you stayed any extra nights. We found a fantastic spot, close to the restrooms and as it was not busy, you didn't get much noise from the neighbours. We stayed in a campervan, good for that time of year since it's more than a bit chilly! Good facilities, warm restrooms and saw elk in the morning! Each campsite has it's own table and fire area and is reasonably private amongst the trees. Well worth the visit and so close to the canyon! Would definitely stay again, though I can imagine it's hectic in the summer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Mather Campground is an excellent camping site very close to the Grand Canyon Mather Viewpoint. The Mather visitor center, general store and Grand Canyon Village are all very close by.

I was impressed by the layout of the site, allowing several hundred tents or vehicles to stay, all with a certain degree of privacy. Each spot is surrounded by some trees, and each spot has its own campfire and picnic table.

There are enough different restroom buildings to make sure you never have to walk very far in the dark. The restrooms are well-maintained, clean and heated (!). (Sadly, they come without soap, but I guess that is standard on campsites tosay.)

A laundromat and showers are available near the entrance.

Checking in and checking out were extremely easy and the price was about average for a campsite in such a location. After checking in, they allowed us to drive around for some time picking our favourite spot instead of assigning one to us, which was great.

Please note that wild elk come onto the campground, and indeed we witnessed a tent being taken down by an aggravated elk bull (it is mating season right now) so I was glad to sleep in a mini-van this time instead of a tent.

My only problem is with the showers. They are accessible only through the guest laundry, and that building has opening hours of 8 am to 6 pm. When checking in, I asked the guy at the entrance whether there was anything I needed to know about the showers, and he sadly failed to mention the opening hours - resulting in us trying to find the showers at around twenty past six, already in complete darkness. We didn't even know whether we were looking in the right place as the laundry/shower building sign wasn't illuminated.

A shower costs USD 2 for 8 minutes (payable in quarters) which seems a little steep but I get that you're technically in the desert and trying to preserve water, so that's okay. There's supposed to be a person there who sells shampoo and has quarters for change. I have to say though that the next morning there wasn't anybody at the desk there, and we left around twenty past eight.

I don't really see why showers need opening times in the first place (especially if they're coin operated!) but seeing as they're currently built the way they are, it would be great if it was at least mentioned at check-in. Secondly, some illumination of the building at night would be great so visitors don't end up stumbling around the dark for half an hour like complete idiots, like we did. ;)

Other than that, it was perfect, and I would not hesitate to stay at this campground again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mkalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

i arrived a day early they did everything to help me secure a campsite and are very nice and helpful. This is an awesome place to visit! Never felt better or happier than in the high altitudes. The place is very clean and well maintained.

Only bad things are no hot water and all the controlled burns smoking up the views but the park cannot do anything about the burning since it is to the north on private land.

I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Ms
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was the best way to visit the Grand Canyon. I am not a camping kind of person, but I'm so glad we decided this last minute so that all the hotels were booked! The campsites are very big, with a nice picnic table and a fire ring. There are plenty of trees so that each site seems semi private. All the campsites that I noticed are very close to the bathrooms, (don't get too close because there will be a lot of foot traffic and noise). The shower house is very clean with a blow dryer provided, which was nice because I forgot mine. The showers do cost $2 for 8 minutes, which is a welcomed 8 min shower!! This was a one of a kind adventure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latricia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I really appreciate the location which is almost in the middle of GC - about 10 minutes walk from Mather point. Be prepared for a very nice staff - they really want to help you whenever you need it. The campsite was clean and so was the toilets. The showers are quite far away - you need to go there by car. There were not enough showers when we used them - I waited approx. 10 minutes before one was free. Prepare a lot of coins :)

What was negative? Quite a lot of small to big rocks was places on our camp place. As we had a tent, we tried to find a place where we can sleep and it took us a longer time prepare the spot. So if you have tent, be aware.

Room Tip: Some places are really "rocky" with lots of rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicotomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
0.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,439 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,891 reviews
5.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,710 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mather Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mather Campground

Property: Mather Campground
Address: Grand Canyon Village, Near Mathers Amphitheater, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 320 campsites and is situated near Grand Canyon Village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mather Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Mather Campground Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing