We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etched in my memory!”
Review of Phantom Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phantom Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Etched in my memory!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My brother and I stayed here for two nights after riding down on the mules. What a neat experience to stay at such an historic place. Okay, it's a bunk house and it's pretty basic. The meals, the staff, the hiking and the opportunity to mix with the other guests make this place magic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJO_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    92
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
109
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We "bucket listed" our Grand Canyon hike and it was quite a wonderful experience. Hiked down the Kaibab trail and stayed in a dorm at the Phantom Ranch. The history and peacefulness abounds here. And nothing tasted better than the cold one we had upon our arrival. But the dorms are, well, dorms. Although I thought I would sleep through anything after our hike down, it didn't work out that way. With 9 others in your room, it is inevitable that someone is getting up to use the bathroom just about all night long. If it happens to be the person in the bunk above you, you will feel the bed shake as they climb down and back up their ladder. Might have been a little snoring going on also. But it is part of the experience and we don't regret a thing. However, if we were to ever do the hike again (which I'm pretty sure we won't), we would try for one of the cabins down there. At least you have a place to be alone and, I assume, would be assured of a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Try for a cabin as opposed to the dorm. It is worth the extra money but probably much harder to res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blase' Jose'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I live and work on the South Rim, and when we get a chance we like to "get away from it all" by hiking to Phantom. What an awsome place!! My husband used to be the maintence man at Phantom, so whenever we go down, he ends up helping the current maintence man which is great!! I get to see the "inner" workings of the ranch!! The staff is so friendly!! The food is amazing although limited due to the remoteness. Ranger talks are very interesting. Lots of good side hikes. Yes the cabins are bare bones, but what do you expect at the bottom of the Grand Canyon!! No TV no phone, no wi-fi, just peace and quiet for a good relaxing time. A short hike leads you to boat beach, great place to take a nap in the sun. Another short hike will allow for a dip in Bright Angel creek, great on a hot summer day!!! The accomodations are sparse, mostly bunk beds in the cabins and dorms although there are two queen bed cabins. The beds are comfortable, and a welcome sight after a LONG hike. There are toilets in the rooms, but showers are a short walk away. This is a great place, if you get a chance to visit definitely go, as it is a once in a lifetime experience!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cactus140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Phantom Ranch is a special place to stay at the bottom of the Grand Canyon. The accommodations are rustic, but ideal in this environment. Bunk beds are in the dorms and cabins are comfortable. The staff is outstanding in terms of support, encouragement, and stories. Meals are pricy, but are of excellent quality and quantity. All in all a first class place to stay and explore the inner canyon.

Room Tip: The cabins and dorms are both excellent choices to stay in. The dorms have new spacious bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TucsonHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have been to the Ranch three times and hope to return soon. For me, it is the perfect combination of a true backcountry experience with some modern conviences (soft bed and hot shower). I don't like sleeping on the ground with the scorpions, etc. The food maybe the best in the National Parks. Great breakfast and dinner. I perfer the Hikers Stew for dinner. A classy thing to do is spring for a bottle of wine at the table you are eating at. And don't forget the world famous lermonaide! Bring very little extra clothing; I would wash cllothes in the shower, and hang them up outside for a quick dry. Great day trips would be up to the Clear Creek area and a slot canyon hike up Phantom Creek. An absolute Bucket List trip.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Hikers Dorm. 5 bunk beds. Try to check in early, and get a Bottom bunk. Easier to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed at the campground two nights one September and enjoyed the ranch and surrounding area. We had dinner in the hall and met some interesting travelers. It seemed a bit surreal enjoying a family style dinner of some of the best Beef Stew I have ever eaten, in the bottom of one of the world's greatest natural wonders. I would love to return and stay in a cabin. If you are camping, make sure you plan for a meal at the ranch. And don't forget to send a postcard from the giftshop, delivered back to the rim by mule train. Plan well in advance, train for it, then enjoy the most spectacular hike imaginable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiickenburg, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you want a total escape from the real world, take a hike, mule ride or float trip to Phantom Ranch at the bottom of the Grand Canyon in Arizona. Very rustic stone cabins as well as male and female dorms available. Meals at the dining/beer hall are available by advanced reservation and served family style - either steak or stew dinners with a breakfast also available. Cabin and dorm reservations are available but must be made in advance. When you call for reservations take whatever is available. Hiking in the summer is very hot. Winter is pleasant but trails can be very icy but doable with ice cleats. Many day hikes available from Phantom Ranch. Colorado River is less than a mile away. Cell phones have sketchy service so leave at your car for a complete get-away. 10 of us hike to Phantom Ranch every year and stay in one of the two group cabins. You will never regret your stay at Phantom Ranch. The majority of guests at the ranch every year are repeat guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WickenburgGCHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
5.5 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,343 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,926 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,852 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
10.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phantom Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phantom Ranch

Property: Phantom Ranch
Address: North Kaibab Trail, South Rim, bottom of Grand Canyon, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phantom Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phantom Ranch is a historic oasis nestled at the bottom of Grand Canyon. It is on the north side of the Colorado River tucked in beside Bright Angel Creek. Phantom is the only lodging below the canyon rim. The Ranch can only be reached by mule, by foot or by rafting the Colorado River. Overnight accommodations at Phantom Ranch consist of dormitory spaces and cabins. Cabins and dormitories are heated in winter and cooled during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Phantom Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phantom Ranch Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Phantom Ranch Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Phantom Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing