We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phantom Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$273
$187
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $410/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $347/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
$179
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveler rating
305
96
9
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
96
9
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteak dinnerstewcornbreadsouth kaibab trailbunk bedsfamily stylebright angel creekmule ridethe cantinafellow hikersbunk housesummer sausagechocolate cake for dessertin advancewake up calltop bunklong hike
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 425 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A buddy and I hiked the canyon on Aug 28 and stayed at the singles dorm for 2 nights. The dorms were clean and inviting, the shower pan could use some cleanser to brighten it up. The linens were clean and the mattresses were comfortable. The food was excellent and plentiful. The service was great and the price of beer and wine was very reasonable. The 4:30 wake up call can startle you but it was not really a problem. The swamp cooler does a good job of keeping the place comfortable but not cold. Overall the Phantom Ranch is a great place to stay. It was not a 5 star hotel but then neither is the price. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The cabins will provide for a quieter visit.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Phantom Ranch w/ my 22 year old daughter( all Dads should do this). It was marvelous, and we stayed in the single sex dorms which were quite comfortable and cheaper than the cabins. The meals were excellent and we met fascinating hikers...

a tip- this trip was last min. and I tried to secure a reservation one week out. They E Mailed back to say they were full ( expected)...at a friends suggestion, I called the phone # on E Mail...they said they would let me know if any cancellations...next day they called and put us right in.Our dorms were about 1/2 empty and the dining hall was too. An employee there explained that economy had made many change their plans...so dont give up- it is well worth it!

Depart for PR from rim well before dawn to limit the extreme heat hiking and the same for hiking out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Phantom Ranch is your only lodging option at the bottom of the canyon, and thank goodness it's a great one.

REVIEW
-Length of stay: We stayed a whopping three nights, though most people seem to stay one. We decided that two nights would have been perfect.
-Dorms vs Cabins: It's worth calling to see if there is a last minute cancellation and whether you can swap out your dorm reservation for a cabin.
-About the Dorms: four dorms: two for men, two for women; dorms have ten beds in 5 bunks, plus one toilet in a little room by itself, a shower in another room by itself, and a sink out in the common area. Bedding and towel included. Our dorm was as (un)clean as you expect a dorm full of transient, sweaty hikers to be -- oh well, get over it. The shower was mildewy and grimey. Accept it now, and all will be good.
-What to expect in a dorm: Check in at the canteen, go to your cabin and claim a bed. Remember to consider proximity to doors (foot traffic), lighting, and a/c vents (yes, there's a/c). People come in and out during all hours of the day -- it's a dorm, so that's normal. Yes, people make noise. It's normal. A member of the staff pops in at 4:30a for wake-up, though some people may be waking up well before or well after.
Food: Sounds pricey at first glance, but remember they lug everything in by mule. The food is very tasty and homey, and worth every penny. We had the beef stew every night, which was very hearty. It is served family style, and you can ask for more. Also includes a great fresh salad, Ranch dressing, corn bread, water, and iced tea. The breakfast is wonderful, too: scrambled eggs, real bacon, and real pancakes with syrup. Because the meals are made fresh, you can't pick them up early for a pre-5am hike. About the "lunch"... not worth it. It is/was a prepackaged hard bagel, packet of cream cheese, jelly, an apple, raisins, peanuts, oreos, vacuum packed sausage. They don't let you swap it out, but they do sell these items a la carte between 8-4p, so you might as well just buy the items you like individually. I wish we had only purchased the bagel and apple, for instance, which would have cost us approx $4, much less than the full "lunch sack" price. Nevertheless, I should reiterate that the breakfast and dinner are certainly worth the money.
---Fair Warning: if you buy a breakfast and decide last-minute to hike out earlier than breakfast time, they -will not- give you anything else in its place, not even a prepackaged bagel.
-Grounds: Bugs weren't really a problem. Flies, common type, were the major, major nuisance at Phantom Ranch. We couldn't do anything about them, but they were a serious buzzkill. The grounds in general are peaceful. You should go in the cold spring water creek and bask in the sun.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LHTPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in a hiker's cabin in the ranch for a night, hiking down south Kaibab trail and then up the Bright Angel trail.The cabin was basic but sufficient. It has an air conditioning which was welcome as the outside temperature was at high 30s Celsius.

The stew diner, breakfast and pack lunch were very good.

We would do it again, but at a cooler season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_in_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I hiked down to Phantom Ranch in July 2012, not really sure what to expect. Once we got into our basic cabin and took a nap (we were tired from early morning hike into the canyon) we realized we made a great choice by staying in the cabins instead of the dorms or a campsite. We had a very basic cabin to ourselves (single bunk beds, a sink, and a toilet) but it was all we needed, as the canteen was a few steps away. Staying in a cabin is comfortable, affordable, but most of all, easy. because you don't have lug a tent, sleeping bag, and other camping supplies into and out of the canyon. Pony up the extra $100 and travel light...it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank mwasowski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews