We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Canyon's Grandest View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toroweap Point

Toroweap Point
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acrophobes may want to avoid this overlook, on the remote part of the North Rim, which provides awesome Canyon views from sheer cliffs nearly 3,000 feet high above the Colorado River.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon's Grandest View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was my 10th trip to the Canyon and the best view of all. Absolutely worth the 2 1/2 hour drive from Fredonia over washboard, cattle crossings and will-the-car-make-it turns in the last 10 miles of road. We particularly enjoyed the "Tuweap Metropolitan Area" sign at the ranger station.

No other people...just us and the little chipmunk who came looking for (but didn't get) lunch under the single shade tree. We spent hours gazing out at the river that carved this breathtaking canyon and exploring as much as we could see from the rim. Lava Falls, that class 10 rapid we rafted years ago looked tiny and unthreatening from Toroweap.

Oh...and did I mention the first-class restrooms practically hanging over the canyon? And no people?

A high-clearance vehicle is a must (one with great tires), lots of water, ample food, and time to just gaze at the most outstanding view of the most outstanding natural wonder in the world.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoTravelers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The way it should be seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We were a little concerned about the drive,hearing of the terrible roads.No doubt a high clearence vehicle is a must,however most of the drive is on excellent roads,except the last 3 miles.When we finally arrived at the edge of the earth,we were truly amazed.We were alone,with nothing but a light breeze and sunshine accompanying us.The Grand Canyon as it should be,quiet,solitude,mesmerizing,awesome.

It's remote,but not as remote as i thought and hoped,however be prepared for self rescue should anything go wrong.Extra spare tires,food and water and something warm should you have to spend the night.I doubt it would be necessary,we did meet many vehicles on the way in and out,but be prepared and go.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I visited this area of the Grand Canyon as part of an overnight tour and it was an incredible experience. All the area is beautiful and the views from the rim are priceless.

One of the greatest things is the quietness there: It was in august and we were the only group there!
All the other places I visited during this trip were overpopulated but this was only for us.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MeZKaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best of the best. A lo-o-ong way from anywhere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you've ever seen the picture of the Grand Canyon looking straight down to the Colorado Rivr, that's probably Toroweap. Get a good map and a stout vehicle (a good SUV with 4WD is fine) and go. You won't see many people. You can camp out, and the sunsets, sunrise and stars are magnificent. Can get pretty windy, which may scare some people. No rails at Toroweap. Just the edge and a couple thousand feet of air.

Don't miss Vulcan's Throne, the school in the middle of nowhere, and absolutely no power lines or cell service. Gas up at Fredonia or St. George, because there's NOTHING in between. Pipe Spring is a good place to see as well.

If you've never been to the North Rim, take the extra time. It's well worth it. If you want to stay at Jacob Lake or the North Rim Lodge, make reservations.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 122intheshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

From Las Vegas we hired Pink Jeep Tours to drive us to this remote spot of the Grand Canyon. It's a long drive but it is absolutely worth every minute of it as you see some spectacular countryside on the way there. Our guide was amazing and so informative. When we arrived at Toroweap, after the last 60 miles of which is dirt road, you are rewarded with a remote, untouched, and uncivilized view of the narrowest part of the Grand Canyon. We were the only people there - our guide, my spouse, my sister and myself. Except for wind, you could hear nothing else - completely tranquil and breathtaking. If you prefer places without a lot of tourists I would highly recommend this remote spot of the Grand Canyon. You can get some great photos opps as well.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sokarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toroweap Point also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Toroweap Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing