We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see”

Grand Canyon North Rim
Book In Advance
More Info
$338.99*
and up
Grand Canyon North Rim Air and Ground Tour with Optional ATV Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Word of mouth has that the more remote, harder to get to and therefore less crowded North Rim offers a more authentic Canyon experience and better views. However, there is no bus service on this rim and it is closed during the winter.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

to celebrate my very special birthday My Husband booked a route 66 trip, driving from Chicago to Santa Monica Beach. Stopping off at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. The scenery was breath taken and I really enjoyed the sheer beauty of the area. We were booked to stay in the cabins on site. There are two types of cabins. due to a mix up on the first night we were placed in the smaller cabin. This I would avoid as you can hear everything your neighbour says and indeed every thing they do. The second night we were in the bigger cabin. I would pay the extra for the comfort. My one problem with the set up is, you are miles away from any town so you have to use their facilities. The dining room is lovely and the view is fab, but it is very overpriced for what you get . They do have a pizza joint, that also sells sandwiches all very pricey especially if you are there with kids. All in all I enjoyed the remoteness of the North Rim.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank adrienne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    187
    36
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
252 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“A totally different perspective of the Grand Canyon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We drove the 210 miles from the South rim to the North rim. We had been advised to expect a different perspective. Certainly the shadows, colours and spectacular views were somewhat similar but also totally different as the sunset arrived. We are not hikers but we really enjoyed the walk around the hotel and motel areas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Ken050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Book a room before you go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had hired a 24ft Winnebago to tour in with our 3 children. The drive in to the other side was a real adventure driving from Las Vegas via Zion National Park which was amazing. We drove into the rim thinking that we would be able to stay somewhere in the area but after an amazing visit into this true Yogi Bear country we had to drive out to a national park to sleep for the night which was a very long drive. One thing to definitely do is to buy a year National Parks pass (which we gave to our friends in L.A. at the end of our trip. It saves a lot of money when you are travelling from park to park. Having this pass we pulled into a national park and not only was it a free night but when we woke in the morning we were surrounded by an amazing forest. Take your children and show them this amazing remote side of the Grand Canyon, but book a room first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Road Less Traveled - Don't Miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I hiked from the S. Rim to the N. Rim for my 50th Birthday. It was spectacular. The views are amazing and the lodge is timeless. You feel like you have stepped back in time. Make sure to make reservations in advance - we booked a year in advance as we had 6 that hiked across and a support crew of 2 to shuttle us back home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Come on now, do I really need to tell you how cool the grand canyon is? It's a must for everyone's bucket list.

I was hesitant at first too. I thought, it's a hole in the ground. It is, but a hole that you can't believe. Be sure to take in the view from a number of different places and go the ranger talks. Learning more about the grand canyon makes it even better

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon North Rim also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing