We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Other Perspective”

Grand Canyon North Rim
Book In Advance
More Info
$338.99*
and up
Grand Canyon North Rim Air and Ground Tour with Optional ATV Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Word of mouth has that the more remote, harder to get to and therefore less crowded North Rim offers a more authentic Canyon experience and better views. However, there is no bus service on this rim and it is closed during the winter.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Other Perspective”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We drove from the South Rim to the North Rim. Allow at least 4 1/2 hours driving time for the one way trip.

The view is totally different from that of the South Rim. The sun is shining at you and a haze is more readily seen, somewhat obscuring the view. The view from the North Rim has greater clarity. You do not get the various reflections of the sun off the rock formations as you do from the South Rim. So you miss much of the color that is reflected at different angles as the sun rotates through the sky. I wold have been disappointed in the Canyon view if I had only viewed from the North Rim. True there are more people at the South Rim and now you know why!

The lodge at the North Rim is newer and does not have that historic charm and nature about it. It's just a large wooden dinning hall. There is no comparison to the South Rim historic El Tovar! We had lunch at the North Lodge and again I was disappointed versus the food service that we had at Arizona and El Tovar! The view from the restaurant was nice but there was a constant glare from the sun coming in the windows inhibiting the view! The food buffet looked awful and the sandwiches were just ok!

If I had to do it over again I would drive the 9 hours back and forth because it was worth the different perspective. Also the ride itself from the South to the North was beautiful! If I this was my only opportunity to see the Grand Canyon I would definitely choose the South Rim: Historic El Tovar, Fantastic sunrise and sunset views because of the reflections off the canyon walls, Far more hiking trails, Great food, and in general a more full experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,336
    187
    36
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Words truly fail to convey the splendor of the Grand Canyon and it's ever-changing array of color and shadow during the day as the sun crosses the sky above it. The North Rim is magnificent, but very isolated. To me, the several hour drive to reach it was well worth the effort. We stayed two days but wish it would have been longer. The cabin we rented was adequate, but very rustic and basic. The restaurant at the Lodge serves very good food and the service is friendly. Arrive early to avoid waiting.

We'll definitely be returning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of America's great treasures.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Short on crowds, long on views. Didn't plan for enough time there- could have done a day for hiking and another for driving along the north rim. Have sturdy shoes, lots of water and a good hat and camera.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank blestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing place to visit!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Canyon North Rim lodge the last week of August, and had the most amazing time. We were there for two days, and even though it rained a lot while we were there, we still enjoyed every minute of it. It is very remote and also very untouched. The lodge and cabins were built years ago, and were made to blend into the scenery. There are no TV's, no wi-fi, and no cell phone service. We hiked down into the canyon for several miles, and the rangers there are very friendly and helpful. We also did several of the rim trails, which offer great views. If you are able, you must hike down into the canyon some. I am afraid of heights, but I was able to hike 2-1/2 miles down. We did the entire 5 mile round trip in about 5 hours, and that was with stopping many times to take pictures and enjoy the view, and we also stopped and ate lunch. Now I want to start planning another trip back there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQLoveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We finally got a western cabin on the rim -”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

OMG the greatest. A fireplace in the room and views unbelievable. The North Rim is hands down the way to see the Grand Canyon - less crowded by far and the lodge is the best in the NP system IMO.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jschlademan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon North Rim also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing