We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to walk in the Snow”
Review of Bright Angel Trail

Bright Angel Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$162.93*
and up
Full Day: Grand Canyon Complete Tour from Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways of the Grand Canyon, this well maintained and popular trail offers breathtaking vistas, some shaded areas, plus a number of rest stops that have drinking water.
orange
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great to walk in the Snow”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Trail is well marked and easy to traverse. We walked on a day when it had snowed which was great fun. Only wish we had longer to walk to the bottom, in Spring or Autumn.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kasparorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    283
    50
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon ,Az.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Grand Canyon was breathtaking! A million words wouldn't be enough to describe the beauty.A picture doesn't do the Grand Canyon justice!!! You have to experience the Grand Canyons beauty in person.My first trip out West was to the Grand Canyon. The Grand Canyon vastness is beyond description.If you get out West make, . sure that you visit the Grand Canyon and take a lot of pictures.Be in for a shock when you see the Grand Canyon for the first time, its so magnificent! Grand Canyon visitor center has bathrooms, food, etc. Bright Angel trail is a wonderful site to take lots of pictures.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Dattripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
594 reviews
229 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Iconic”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was probably the highlight of our entire trip; just walking 6 miles round trip on this historic trail. As we should have known, it's much easier going down the trail than it is coming back up. But, it didn't take us any longer to walk back up than it did to go down to the 3-mile point. I think that may have been because on the way down you're looking at things and taking photos and stopping, etc. On the way back up, you're looking at your feet and the trail and there's not as much sight-seeing. At least there wasn't for us. We're in good shape but we were huffing and puffing and stopping for rest every 15-20 minutes or so. It sounds weird to say, but we compare this to seeing Red Square for the first time, or any other iconic, historic place. It's really a must-do when you're at the south rim, to do at least a portion of this trail. We plan on another visit and plan on staying overnight at the bottom the next time we visit the Canyon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and easier than South Kaibab”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a lovely hike down the canyon. Views are excellent. In the winter - it is quite shaded so we had snowy trails for about 3 miles of our descent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
589 reviews
236 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“What a Trail!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hike this trail and you will never forget the views as you descend and then make the ascension. It's spectacular and the light/shadows play across the canyon walls as you go 'round every bend. Don't miss!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bright Angel Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Bright Angel Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing