We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive View”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Day Hike Tour from Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Impressive View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a 2 hr hike, back and forth to the Ooh Aah Point. We enjoyed our walk tremendously. Highly recommended even for amateur hikers like us of age 65 and over. You can still make it. It is better to take your poles along in case you slip on the sandy path. Beautiful Canyon view. Have a go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SiuMui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,033
    165
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, IL
Level Contributor
217 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We did a rim-to-river-to-rim hike with reservations at Phantom Ranch in January. We traveled down the South Kaibab trailhead. The views are absolutely spectacular!

Do be prepared. There is very little shade on the trail. There is no water available on the trail. There are bathrooms at Cedar Ridge and Tip Off (they happened to be very clean the day we were there). At the time we were there, there was no ice or snow on the trail making it very easily traveled.

It took us four hours to get from the trailhead to the river; we shortly stopped to snack/bathroom twice. We also stopped several times for photographs.

For a more strenuous day hike, consider going to just past Skeleton point where you can get a glimpse of the Colorado River.

Also note that there are toilets and water at the trailhead; the orange bus makes a stop at the trailhead. There was not a picnic table available in winter at the trailhead, but we found some nice rocks to sit on at the rim. What a view!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank warrenville111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

There is a big change in altitude, so be fit. But otherwise, the trail is smooth and easy walking. The views are amazing because the trail follows the ridgeline.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank emmy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Amazing Hike Down Grand Canyon to Phantom Ranch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I did the hike down the Grand Canyon and back up on April, 2013. Total time was 10 hours from 7am to 5pm - 3.5 hours down, one hour at the bottom and lots of photo stops – 270 pics with a DSLR and an iPhone. Spectacular and well worth it though I much preferred the South Kaibab Trail (down) to the Bright Angel Trail (up) which I found boring. I might do South Kaibab up and down next time.
Would not like to do this on a hot day. I had a perfect day – sunny and around freezing at the start and probably around 70 at the bottom. Although I am over 65, I am a fit, reformed marathoner. Do not attempt this hike on a hot day and/or if you are not fit.
There is no water available on the South Kaibab Trail. There is water at the bottom and at several points on the Bright Angel Trail. The South Kaibab Trail is more open, along a ridge, with outstanding views and panoramas – it is steeper and shorter – 4860’ vertical and 7.4 miles. The Bright Angel Trail is more of a valley trail – less views but more shade – it is longer and less steep – 4460’ vertical and 9.9 miles.
Advice is take lots of water, especially on a hot day. Being cautious, I took too much water, especially for the cooler weather in April. Dress in layers. I used a hiking pole and found it to be very helpful both down and up.
Great experience and I would love to do it again. Well worth going part way down the South Kaibab trail (Cedar Ridge or Skeleton Point) for the experience and the views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Whistledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Views from the S. Kaibab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have had the pleasure of hiking this trail 5 times. It is the shortest way down to Phantom Ranch, but the most steep. There is no water, so come prepared. Resist the temptation to run, because if you are not trained this will cause major aches the following day when it's time to hike out. Gorgeous views all the way down and lots of Kodak moments. Plan on 3-4 hours, but could take longer if you take lots of photo breaks. Suggest trekking poles as that helps take some pressure of the knees with all the steps down. Enjoy - one of my favorite hikes!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing