We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tricky!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Book In Advance
$179*
and up
Grand Canyon Day Hike Tour from Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little tricky!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have to say I wasn't feeling my best the day we hiked this trail. The views are spectacular & magnificent ... basically the trail follows a ridge line and all the way up you are on the "outside" so when you meet someone, my advice is to stop and let them pass. There's not much trail etiquette ... my feeling is that the exhausted souls heading UP THE TRAIL, have the right of way without question (my husband and I had a big debate about this). My feeling is that your pretty rickety on the way up so people headed down should just get out of the way. DON'T MISS ANY OF THESE TRAILS! they're spectacular ... but hold on to the kids!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank red728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    146
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Must do. Major Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We took shuttle bus and got there at 8:30. Still some ice and snow on upper switchbacks but all doable. Took to heart the warning not to go to base and back in one day. Easily could have. Got to cedar point. Really feel part of canyon when you climb down. My two teenagers loved it. And views amazing. Scale better understood than by the rim walks. Truly one of the highlights for all of us

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank exBostonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I wrote a lot of detail on this in my grand canyon review. We loved this day trip and highly recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Going deep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Steep with multiple switchbacks in the beginning. If your child needs to pee, get comfortable having them going between waves of crowds. Definitely take a water back-pack and fresh vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower because they are naturally salty. A 23 year old marathon runner died recently because she didn't take enough water and only packed a protein bar...the story's posted at the Kaibab Trailhead.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetraveledmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rim to river and back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Left at dawn on Good Friday. We were dipping our toes in the river at 9:00 am. Back to the top at 1:30. A truly memorable hike. But we were also well prepared and had trained for it. As the rangers say, we don't recommend trying this. . . .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adobe313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing