We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Kaibab Trail

South Kaibab Trail
Book In Advance
$178.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Day Hike Tour from Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the two superhighways into the Canyon, the other being the Bright Angel Trail, this path runs along a ridge offering stunning views. During the summer, visitors are advised to bring at least two quarts of water along because it can get very hot and the trail offers no shade.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Only walked to Cedar Ridge but it was so worth it. A must do treck while in the area. When I come next time I would like to do the complete journey and stay at the phantom ranch for a few nights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wasserloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    158
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Death Valley National Park, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This trail is the "short" way to Phantom Ranch and has majestic views of the canyon. Just a short hike to OOH AAH point is well worth it, if you have the time Cedar Ridge is well worth it. I don't recommend going any farther then Skeleton Point for a day hike as the trail is very strenuous.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cactus140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“knees better be in shape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

south Kaibab was a test on anyones knees . switchbacks were too numerous to mention but the views were awesome,,, once you get your first view of the colorado river you wont forget the scene

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Steep but incredible trail to hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Kaibab trail is steep no matter how you look at it. The views of the Grand Canyon are unmatched no matter how far one hikes up or down the trail. Be prepared for sore calves after hiking downhill for almost a mile, but a delight in being in a special place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hiking this trail was the highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This day hike was absolutely AMAZING. I was all set to do Bright Angel when someone recommended doing this hike instead. I'm so glad I switched. The views were out of this world stunning. My husband and I hiked to the first stop, Ooh Ahh Point, and then on to Cedar Ridge. We turned around at Cedar Ridge and all in all, accounting for snow/ice, breaks, and numerous photo ops, it took us about 4 hours to go down and back. The hike is not for the faint of heart and if you go in cold weather be aware that it can be snowy in some places, icy in others (especially on the initial switchbacks) as well as muddy or dusty in some spots. Yak Traks were an absolute necessity. The hike up is really as challenging as people warn. If you are in shape you will likely be fine but even if you are in moderate shape you will be huffing and puffing. I can see how walking sticks would be helpful. I received good advice and layered appropriately and brought a lot of water. I was surprised how much water we drank, even in the colder weather. The views along this hike will take your breath away and stay with you forever. Definitely, definitely hike into the canyon if you have the time. The experience is priceless.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Numero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to South Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing