We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Swiss Room: Decent Burgers, Terrible Service”

Interlaken Lounge at Many Glacier Hotel
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
607 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“The Swiss Room: Decent Burgers, Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

After a short hike in the Many Glacier area, we decided to stop by the Many Glacier Hotel and grab a quick bite to eat in the Swiss Room, located next to the Interlaken Lounge. The menu looked good and we both had a hankering for a burger.

A young fellow who was to be our server came by and abruptly tossed a couple menus on the table, told us the soup of the day and then just as suddenly turned on his heel, without so much as a smile, let alone a, "good afternoon and welcome". Having worked in a seasonal tourism destination for years, I understand that sometimes you have a rough day, and you start to get a little tired, especially towards the end of the season (we were visiting in late Aug), but there was no excuse for such poor service. The server's cold, distant demeanor did not change over the course of our meal, and we were not surprised at the lack of a food quality check. Perhaps the fellow was just tired and ready to be finished working in Many Glacier, but if you want to work in the hospitality industry, you need to learn to put on a smile and still act welcoming, even if you don't feel it inside.

Despite the terrible service, the burgers themselves were cooked nicely, tasted good, and arrived in decent time.

While not the most spectacular view looking out the lounge windows, the atmosphere was still nice to sit and relax over a bite to eat, after a good day's hike.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited the lounge after a long day of hiking as we were too tired to drive. The food (burger) was terrible - way overcooked and the soup would have been good if it had been hot. Since we visited after labor day, I am not sure if the staff level was down, but the service was slow - the server delivered our food and we never saw her again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pixiestix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great view, connection, but bad food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place for intranet connectivity, so found ourselves gravitating here. However, beer selection was low, especially when they run out at end of year. Food was terrible, but views out windows are spectacular. Staff seemed wierd, like not really devoted, or not well managed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulajcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“two visits both very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, bring your sunglasses if you are early evening - it's very bright with a great view. First trip montana meatloaf for my partner (good, but not great..meat content made it a little dry), but the plate was cleaned. I went lighter with a pear salad and cocounut shrimp. These were fantastic! Our stunning server, Lenka was great also. I think I heard piano in the background. Second visit there was violin. Sirloin and trout were our choices - both very good. Only a couple bones in the trout. dessert was a little lacking in choices for me - we tried the chocolate ganache, but it's just not my favorite chocolate for dessert. Atmosphere was lovely. Both times they took a wait list (20 min) and we enoyed a beer (recovery beverage) in the waiting/view room at the entrance to the dining room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eyesoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The atmosphere in the dining areas was wonderful.
I loved having breakfast in early in the morning around 6:30.The staff was very helpful. All around everything was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaE5247ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interlaken Lounge at Many Glacier Hotel also viewed

 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Interlaken Lounge at Many Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing