We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishcreek Campground review”
Review of Apgar Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apgar Campground
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This review is for Fishcreek campground within the Apgar. There is also another campground close to the Apgar village that is called Apgar camground. This is a solid campground that is clean and well cared for . The restrooms are adequate. The rangers were visable and did a good job. The lake is fantastic, warm enough for a swim. Our 5 and 7 year old kids were able to ride their bikes with us from the campground to Apgar which is about 2 miles away using the trail system. This is a good basecamp campground for the West side of the park and they do take reservations..

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
10  Thank hrdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a great site in B Loop. We were towing a trailer across country so the drive through site was nice. Decent area for a tent, though many of the drive thrus don't.
Restrooms basic, but clean.
Site itself had great trees and we didn't feel like we were on top of our neighbors even though its a large campground.
Attended a great ranger program at Fish Creek Campground on the making of the Going to the Sun Road

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

There's a two week limit on staying in the park. On arrival I didn't understand this limit but after a few days I wish we could have stayed longer than the 10 days we eventually spent there. The only thing that stops me from giving this camp 5 stars is the lack of showers. Near Lake MacDonald for swimming and boating. Lots of hiking and biking trails. Less than a 1/2 mile to the village where there is a small restaurant, camp store, visitors center and a few tourist shops. Lots of ranger led activities. I highly recommend the "Park after Dark" that teaches us all about the need for Dark Spaces and the dangers of light pollution and it's effect on the natural world.

Room Tip: Bring your bikes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank imothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Can't speak to the regular sites at Apgar, but we stayed for 6 nights in a group site with another family (9 people total), and had a great experience. There are only 10 group sites on the entire loop, so there is quite a bit of privacy. On our group site, there were 4 sites for tents, one huge fire pit with built-in benches all around, 2 smaller fire pits, and 3 large picnic tables. We were right near the flush toilets & fresh water, which was great. Another advantage - you can reserve these sites ahead (which we took advantage of). In our experience, the campground was very well patrolled & we did not have any noisy neighbor problems (although of course this is a crap shoot at any campground.) We would definitely do it again!

Room Tip: I recommend reserving a group site if you are travelling with at least 9 people. They really are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent a week staying at various campgrounds across the GTTS road and this was by far the worst. The amenities weren't the problem, but each night I became convinced that something in the air made the people and their pets crazy. All of the other campgrounds had patrolling rangers that made sure the noise was reasonable and people kept to the rules. At this campground, people literally chopped down live trees in their campsite to burn them. Others gave their children carte blanche to run through others' sites at 6 in the morning, screaming. At all other campgrounds we stayed at, pets were well behaved and quiet. At this one, there was at least one dog fight that we witnessed owners trying to pull the dogs apart because one wasn't leashed. And dogs howled and barked through the nights. I honestly would never go back to this campground. Maybe it's not anything in the air making people crazy, but it IS the easiest campground to get to from the populated side of the park, making it the resting place of a lot of people who wouldn't otherwise put too much effort into camping. Because of that, the overall courtesy and common sense of the campers seemed to be at a minimum. I would recommend getting to the park early and driving past Apgar over to Fish Creek where it seemed to be more subdued.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CarCampChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Campground is typical of a campground in the national park system. OK restrooms, no showers. 1/2 mile from Apgar Village with eatery and shopping. 1/3 mile from shuttle stop. Far enough from main road though we did hear the train whistles going through West Glacier several miles away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jmckee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2004

Stayed at the Apgar campground 4 nights in July '04. The campground is attractive, quiet, great access to Lake McDonald, shops at Apgar village. Teens really liked the proximity to shops/restaurants. However we were tent camping and it was a REAL CHALLENGe as there are no showers and due to bear precautions you have to store all cooking, cleaning, food supplies in your vehicle. So every meal you unpack it all and set it up, and then after doing dishes you pack it all back in your car. BIG HASSLE. Next time I will stay in one of the lodges or motor inns or take an RV. But the park is WONDERFUL!

20  Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apgar Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apgar Campground

Address: Apgar Village, Glacier National Park, MT
Location: United States > Montana > Glacier National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Glacier National Park
Price Range: $15 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 194
Also Known As:
Apgar Campground Hotel Glacier National Park
Apgar Campground Glacier National Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing