We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glacier National Park
from $80.00
More Info
from $65.27
More Info
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
201
20
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
20
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy hike extra distance mist coming burnt trees beautiful waterfall shuttle stop trail head early summer parking lot sun point picture opportunities great hike st mary great pictures limited parking mary's lake parking spot
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 224 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2018

So glad we went on this hike to not only see Virginia Falls but St. Mary Falls also. Fairly easy hike, but beautiful areas and falls.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank virginias729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2018

We came here in August during the Howe Ridge wildfires this year. This is rated as a moderate trail with great views! You start the trail with St Mary's Falls, which is a sight in itself, and then gifted with several other waterfalls once you pass it (these are relatively small). Just keep going! If you're questioning whether or not you're already there/whether it's Virginia Falls, you're probably not there yet. Virginia Falls is a lot taller than the others and quite powerful.

The trail itself is not very difficult, if you're in relatively good health you should be able to do it in a few hours, with plenty of time to explore, take pictures, and enjoy the sights. Children can do it, and even if you have older folks in your party, if you take your time (there's plenty to see!) you should be fine. I wore the tevas for shoes, and it was pretty comfy, and I was able to take them off to dip my feet into the water which was quite refreshing after a whole day of hiking.

As for parking, there is roadside parking but most of them were quite full when we arrived in the early afternoon. We had to park at the next stop and take a park shuttle there.

Date of experience: August 2018
5  Thank whoisanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Moderate hike, lovely waterfalls. Approx 4 miles total. Bring water. After you see the first waterfall, St. Mary's...keep going, you will pass several more...keep going, the trail ends at Virginia Falls.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank LakeCountryMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

There are several waterfalls in close proximity all worth seeing. There is roadside parking available but, from our experience, the parking lots may be filled up by mid to late morning. If you want to hike this trail we suggest you arrive rather early in the day. The trails are relatively easy. Virginia falls may be the nicest waterfall in this area but the highlight for us was coming face to face with a bull moose walking down the trail. Needless to say, we kept our distance but managed to get a picture before we put some distance between us and the moose.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank BCW_1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

Virginia Falls is on the St. Mary's Falls trail but it is NOT the next falls after St. Mary's. There are several beautiful falls between St. Mary's and Virginia Falls and it is easy to think you are there and wonder why there is no sign. Enjoy the bonus falls and keep going to Virginia, which has a sign identifying it, because it is worth it. The trail has some spots of elevation changes and rocky areas. It is not an easy trail but is not too bad either.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank janrA2759SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews