We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice easy hike”
Review of Fishercap Lake

Fishercap Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Platte, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice easy hike”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

They say this is the place to go to see the moose in the lake. I did not see any here, but up the trail at Bullhead I did see a male moose. So keep an eye out, even for the grizzlies.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Moose”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I love to stop at Fishercap Lake on our way to Redrock Falls. We almost always have seen moose in the lake. So much fun to see moose in the wild. Since it's such a short walk from the Swiftcurrent Motor Inn we have also walked over there after we have eaten dinner. Evening and morning are a good time to view moose but we have also seen them in the middle of the day. The last time we went to the lake was after a heavy rainfall. I can't tell you how sweet and fresh the forest smelled after that rain. Very cool. One of our favorite places at Many Glacier. Can't wait till we can visit it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilyofthefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Wildlife Viewing Spot - Fishercap Lake, Many Glacier - Easy Walk”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fishercap Lake is just a short walk from Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and campgrounds, and the Sperry Pass trailhead parking. I spent a couple hours over 3 afternoons sitting at the lake edge watching wildlife. It was the first time I'd seen a Big Boy Moose with Antler Rack in the wild, plus there were several females, and white tailed deer too, awesome photography spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“change for wildlife sightings”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was an easy hike from the hotel and we went after dinner. The shoreline was wet to navigate (in terms of photo position) but we did get some good pictures of a moose cow feeding. She seemed to be guarding the end of the lake where her calf and a bull moose were feeding, or at least, changed her position so no one dared more around the shore to get photos of the bull and calf (which we never saw from our vantage)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great place to view moose...”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you're there early or late... and deer also. It's a nice little hike from Swiftcurrent Lodge and we took our chairs & fishing poles (horrible fishing though, too shallow)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishercap Lake also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Fishercap Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing