We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Icebergs were melted in early September, yet still a beautiful hike to a beautiful lake

This hike is not hard, but it is long. There is a waterfall somewhere about mid-way that has rocks... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
rusky1415
,
Easley, South Carolina
Worth every step.

One of the prettiest places I have ever been. I would love to go back earlier in the season when... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
scodkokno
,
Kingsport, Tennessee
Read all 467 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Glacier National Park
from $65.27
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
from $295.00
More Info
from $110.00
More Info
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveler rating
419
43
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
419
43
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hike miles round trip elevation gain swiftcurrent motor inn gradual incline favorite hike long hike day hike ice floating bear encounters wild flowers quarter mile pit toilets early september ranger led hike ground squirrels steep climb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hike is not hard, but it is long. There is a waterfall somewhere about mid-way that has rocks and places to sit for a nice rest. The scenery along the way is amazing. The icebergs were melted by mid-July, according to a park ranger, but the turquoise color of the water is amazing. There are lots of rocks along the bank and places to sit to enjoy your lunch or snack. We saw big horn sheep along the trail high up on the mountainside. It was nice to have binoculars to view them.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank rusky1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great views on this moderate 9.3 mile hike with most of the ascent in the beginning. The trail goes from opens areas with beautiful views of mountains to dense forested areas to meadows & flora. There are some areas with narrow single file trail. A little more than half way on the hike we came to Ptarmigan Falls although difficult to see through the trees. There was a nice open rock area near a bridge just above the falls to sit & enjoy. The sights & sounds of rushing water to the falls was so peaceful. Near here after the bridge the trail also leads to Ptarmigan Lake & Tunnel so we just followed the signs to Iceberg lake. The trail became fairly flat & easy at this point until close to the lake when there is a short ascent. After that we walked a short distance then turned the corner & wow the most gorgeous crystal clear aqua blue lake. Bit of a descent down to the lake but a must do. Many people were sitting there enjoying the incredible views of the lake & ice on the cliff walls. One girl even went for a dip in the chilly water. Disappointingly there wasn’t any floating ice. The hike is recommended to do early as the trail is open to the sun most of the time. The trail start was behind our motel Swiftcurrent Motor Inn. Limited parking at the trail start but also parking in front of the Inn. The hike took us 6 hours round trip but we stopped to enjoy the waterfall & lake. Apparently bears love this area so we carried bear spray but only saw a deer cross the trail in the beginning.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 788debrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the prettiest places I have ever been. I would love to go back earlier in the season when Icebergs are actually in water but beautiful anyway.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank scodkokno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Iceberg Lake Trail is a 9.3 mile out and back hike that will be well worth the 1450 feet in elevation change. The views along the way are varied and stunning. The trail is very narrow in some sections and there is a section about two thirds of the way in that is very shaded. In this section there is a pit toilet as well as one at the end of the trail near the lake. The color of the water is stunning and clear and on a good day you will be able to see small pieces of glaciers in the water that are fading away. Near approaching the lake there is a meadow to your right which must not be accessed. I have seen some bloggers who have gone there to video and this is not permitted. It can be very windy and chilly at the lake so come prepared especially if you plan to take a rest before turning back.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank BrianCB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Great hike, got lucky with the weather staying in the low 70's too. The hike is relatively easy, and the scenery is a postcard everywhere you look. Didn't have any icebergs on the lake for us this time, but that's ok. Saw a couple moose, and a large grizzley so that made up for it!

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews