We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary Scary Scary”
Review of Highline Trail

Highline Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular hiking trail with phenomenal views.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Scary Scary Scary”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Yes, everyone talks about the chain on the wall but, gee golly gosh, its a long way down. I am afraid of heights but hypnotized myself to make it through this section. The rest of the trip to Granite Park Chalet was terrific. If you're not scared of heights, its a piece of cake.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    40
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the best hikes in Glacier for "normal" people”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just off of Logan Pass and the visitor center, this is one of my favorite hikes! This is a very doable hike. We did an out and back for 1.5 hours (3 round trip) and the views are spectacular the entire way. Fantastic cliffs with serious drop offs at the beginning of the trail--- not for those scared of heights!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank schmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet
Level Contributor
194 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“It's a 4 and a 3”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you've never hiked in Glacier, Highline Trail is a great introduction to the park. For height-challenged folks like myself, the first part of the trail is mortifying - that cable looks like an old garden hose retrieved out of a dumpster, but it holds. If you have the courage to look up, you may see a goat staring down at you from the ledge above. This is a level hike and it's kind of vanilla in a way, but the view is unparalleled. Take the walk, you'll remember the experience. It's a 4 if you've never hiked before. It's a 3 when you compare it to other hikes in the park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishscales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful first hike in Glacier”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was the hike we did on our first full day in the park. My wife has some issues with heights, so I was concerned we wouldn't make it past the first half mile where there are some steep drop offs. But she kept her hand on the cable, and was fine. It is fairly wide in that spot (4 feet or so). I think it looks worse that it really is, but then again when you're afraid of heights, that kind of "logic" doesn't help explain away anything. For those with this issue, I would certainly say give it a try, and if it doesn't work, simply turn around and go do Hidden Lake instead. That's a must do hike as well.

We hiked to the chalet and down to the loop. We absolutely loved the 7.6 miles from Logan Pass to the chalet. The 4 miles down to the loop - eh. There isn't much to see, it is in the sun, and it is a constant pounding on your feet. Afterwards, we wondered if perhaps it would have been more fun to simply hike all the way back. It would be longer, but that trail doesn't have too much elevation gain on it either way. Perhaps simply doing it backwards starting at the loop.

However you do it, just make sure you do.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SGS95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The 11.6 mile Highline/Loop hike is the best I've done. You walk on high cliffs (not as scary as people make them out to be - how often do you fall sideways while walking anywhere?), through alpine meadows, and come to a neat chalet after 7.6 miles. I am not in great shape, but was able to do it with my 15 and 10-year-old sons, who also thought it was great. The toughest part is the last 4 miles as they are almost all downhill. If you can't make it 11 miles, walk in a mile or 2 at Logan Pass, then back out. The elevation change is small over the first stretch. The views are great over the whole trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highline Trail also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Highline Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing