We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hike for kids in Glacier park”
Review of Avalanche Lake

Avalanche Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular hiking area within Glacier National Park.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome hike for kids in Glacier park”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We hiked here in September 2013 with an infant and a toddler. It's a relatively easy hike without much elevation so my 3 year old son walked almost the entire hike by himself which was great. The view in avalanche lake is beautiful and there are nice benches there to relax or have lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Danabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    140
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake with waterfalls”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The trail starts off with views of Avalanche Gorge. Take the time to enjoy the gorge. The water is shades of blue and aqua and it's surprising how deep some of the pools are. The trail is a little steep but is not too rough. Here and there you get close to the creek. There are downed trees all over under the forest. The live trees are tall.

A couple of times you set mountain tops through openings in the trees. Right before you get to the lake you'll see a waterfall or two high up on the mountain. Go around the bend an you're at a huge logjam at the outlet of the lake. You're surrounded by mountains that seem to go straight up. The lake is crazy blue. We lucked out with perfect weather and small crowd. On the way out we went the wrong direction on Trail of the Cedars so we only saw half of that trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freedom, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice relatively easy trail”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very scenic with waterfalls. The hike was fairly easy not a big elevation shift. The hike around the lake we couldn't finish because it rained the day we hiked but worth while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great ranger hike”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We got there early as advised and a ranger walk was about to begin so we joined that. Pace was a little slow but the ranger shared some really fascinating info which gave you a much better understanding of how the area was formed and the continuing movement. The walk stopped at the lake but worth taking a little more time to walk to the far end of the lake which is very quiet and enjoy the stunning scenery

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jakkster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Like waterfalls?”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hike up to this lake is awesome. Numerous waterfalls and cascades flow along the trail. Spotted a deer. Traffic can be heavy so try to go early in the morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalanche Lake also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Avalanche Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing