We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalanche Lake

Avalanche Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular hiking area within Glacier National Park.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glorious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hike to Avalanche Lake is challenging and there were a few times I though about turning back. I'm glad I didn't. The lake itself is spectacular with many glaciers running down into it. And, the lake was a beautiful blu/green color. A wonder destination and great resting spot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yehudit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    128
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great short hike with big views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a must do hike for people that don't want a huge, difficult hike. Within less than 1/4 mile you will see the most beautiful creek you will ever see. The lake itself is very beautiful also but the beauty of this hike is that even people in wheelchairs can see the creek and it's beautiful colors. To get to the lake will take real hiking but not difficult.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an amazing place to visit!! we will go back hopefully next summer! We just drove up for the day, wish we had more time to spend there. Not over crowded, crystal clear water and breath taking views

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank whashley623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Not great by Glacier standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

After hiking to the Grinnell Glacier and on the Highline trail I would say this hike was below average for Glacier. But then again this doesn't mean much since Glacier is fantastic. The hike is all inside the forest. You can occasionally see a chipmunk and some interesting big rocks
with water flowing through them while making soothing sounds. But that's about it.

We started at 10 got there after 1 hour while hiking at a moderate pace. We realized that 11am at the end of September was not a good time to get to the lake. The sun was exactly in front us and made it hard to take pictures or appreciate the color of the lake. It that happens to you, you may have to hike around the lake in order to have the sun behind you. On the way back we started meeting more and more people even a large group of students arriving there with a school bus. So, it can get crowded late in the day even in late fall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank hexalite2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasaden, tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trail of the Cedars/Avalanche Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The trail of the Cedars was different from other trails in Glacier due to the dense cedar forest. Avalanche Lake was pretty, but not as spectacular as some of the other lake hikes. If you are in east Glacier, it is a very long way to drive. See some other lakes on the east side unless you have plenty of time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank squid1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalanche Lake also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Avalanche Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing