We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but still breath taking”
Review of Avalanche Lake

Avalanche Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular hiking area within Glacier National Park.
Hanover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Busy, but still breath taking”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We hiked this with our kids ages 13, 10 and almost seven. The walk was manageable, but pushing the boundaries of our seven year old. Once to the lake, we enjoyed numerous waterfalls and a nice rocky beach.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ToddP-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    133
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hike. Journey and destination equally stellar.”
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

This should be part of the itinerary for anyone planning to hike in Glacier NP. It is 4.2 miles round trip (not 3 as a recent review indicated) and is an "out and back" and not a loop. The trail is well maintained and we encountered no problems with the trail conditions in mid July. There is definite elevation gain, so be prepared to work a little. The payoff is an awe inspiring blue green lake framed by mountains which house multiple waterfalls. Along the way, you'll see cedars, a clear blue raging creek with smaller waterfalls, and the sheer mountain cliffs that surround you. We saw some smaller wildlife, but there was a black bear on the trail an hour before we got there. Bring water and some snacks and wear appropriate footwear (though we saw more than a few in flip flops and even bare feet). But most of all, bring your camera.

Helpful?
Thank mtndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The forest was beautiful; so was the creek and the lake. Not too hard a hike. Just start early to find parking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely hike in the shade”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This trail had a great beginning and ending. And the middle was very interesting, hence, avalanche. Short hike, 3 miles round trip, pick up at the Trail of the Cedars. Had a hard time getting a parking spot, go early. We loved that this was mostly shaded, and accompanied by the water partial way. The end is very pleasing. Most anyone could do this hike, but it does have a few hills.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank park_person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a busy hike”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I really enjoyed hiking to Hidden Lake even though it rained. There were a lot of trees; the ground was muddy but we didn't get much rain on our heads. The lake was still beautiful. Just so you know, the hike continues on past the lake but there is nothing to see at the end, just a sign that says "end of trail", so if you're wondering if there is something else to see don't bother. It's a pretty popular hike so parking can sometimes be difficult.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ciaradawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalanche Lake also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Avalanche Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing