We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the effort to visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park

Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park symbolizing the long-standing friendship between Glacier National Park and its neighbor, Waterton Lakes National Park in Canada.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Eevry thing about this side of the park is worth visiting and there is anything that you might need to be had here. Absolutely unbelievable view from the Lodge that is located here and is well worth seeing. I would love to go back and stay there in the future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    46
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“off-season Waterton Lakes National Park is perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I camped 1 night and 2 days at the Waterton Springs Campground just on the outskirts of the park and found it to be very private and quite lovely. Because it was off season (after labour day), there were far fewer tourists to contend with and a lot more tranquility on the camp ground because the "party crowd" had already left the weekend before. The park itself has gorgeous hikes and spectacular scenery. I went on the Bertha Falls hike which leads you to Bertha lake in just under 4 hours round trip if you hike at a moderate pace. The lake is beautiful and because of the time of year that we went, very very quiet! No one was around except for the jumping fish and a couple of cute chipmunks. The next day was fishing in the lower Waterton lake where a black bear was literally beside us having a bath while we chatted on our beach towels (note that we ran to our car as soon as we noticed the bear noticing us). Some points to consider for your visit to Waterton:

1. After the Labour day weekend the only campsite that allows fires is the Waterton Springs campground

2. Boat Rentals are closed

3. The Prince of Wales Hotel high tea is $30/person and you will still be hungry afterwards

4. Lots of wasps are in the town so maybe eat indoors if you go to a restaurant

5. Do not try to hug and cuddle the bears even though they're super cute

6. The gate admission is $15 but you can ask them to put a time on when it expires the next day (i.e. we got the pass at 11 am on Wednesday and just asked the girl to extend the pass to 4 pm the next day)..no extra cost.

Anywho, great experience, super lovely on the off season (it was still + 27 when we were there).

Go fishing, hiking, and camping for sure! The stars are also quite beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank veronicamarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
352 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Best scenic little town nestled in gorgeous mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I think the words can not describe the breathtaking beauty of this peace park which is the only park and place between USA Ana Canada where you do not need a visa or passport to cross the border in the boat.
It is very picturesque and peaceful. A must visit if you are in Calgary or glacier national park area visiting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotofly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ain't Canada great?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The folk are friendly and the scenery is wild! I understand that there is some problem with the road that the shuttle takes to Carthew Alderson so that it can be accessed only from Waterton. This is a pity since the other side is the better hike. Check it out, anyways.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwaukeeMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Waterton Park is well worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The entire Waterton National Park is well worth the visit. The Peace Park is particularly nice. Great scenery. Wonderfully cared for. Beautiful country.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing