We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Lake McDonald”
Review of Lake McDonald

Lake McDonald
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large recreational lake in Glacier National Park.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lake McDonald”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

On you way to the Going to the Sun Road the stop at Lake McDonald is a must for all newcomers and seasoned explorers. as you walk into the lodge you are greeted by a huge stone fireplace and if you have limber fingers sit down and play a song of the piano. Lunch is always warm and truly Northern Montana style. I like the buffalo burgers with a cold smoke beer sitting on the patio overlooking the lake. After lunch get your feet wet on the shores of Lake McDonald or take the ferry ride around the lake for a bit of history. If you brought your mountain bike just park and discover the park with friends off the beaten track. One caveat..... always bring a couple cans of beer spray when hiking or biking because it is grizzly country and they need snacks to.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    114
    23
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kalispell mt
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lake Cristal Clear”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very Nice Lake and Glacier is really something to see. I do not think there are any lakes that compare to this one.

Helpful?
1 Thank spot36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lake McDonald is the largest lake in Glacier National Park and the first lake I encountered on the West Entrance road. I saw it in the early morning sun and it was like a vision from another world. Long shadows stretched across the lake and distant mountains framed by the light blue sky were mirrored on its glassy surface. It was a wonderful sight to behold. I was alone by the lake and everything was right with the world. Unforgettable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rusticpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Lake in Glacier Park, perfect picnic spot”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This has been a family favorite since moving to Montana 20 years ago. We have had many family and friend picnics along this lake when touring Glacier Park. It is a "must stop" while traveling along Going To The Sun Road. Our favorite is to pull off and walk down along the lake at one of the less steep spots, carrying down our cooler, and bringing a picnic blanket for a relaxing lunch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mellowjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Less wild than other parts of Glacier Park, this beautiful lake is wonderful for water sports, huckleberry treats, and tourist attractions. Sign up here for a whitewater raft trip on the Flathead river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JGarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake McDonald also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Lake McDonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing