We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Spectacular!!

We were fortunate enough to get a Red Bus Tour and even more fortunate that the road was closed to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
floridatocanada
,
North Palm Beach, Florida
via mobile
Was wonderful.

We took this tour as it was our first time visiting Glacier. I highly recommend. It allows you to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
910ChristiW
,
Kingsport, Tennessee
Read all 868 reviews
  
Reviews (868)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveler rating
638
147
35
24
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
638
147
35
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour continent tour red bus tour our tour guide wool blankets sun road great tour open top bus his knowledge logan pass take pictures great overview western alpine mountain majesty highly recommend this tour dress in layers sun tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were fortunate enough to get a Red Bus Tour and even more fortunate that the road was closed to all other traffic due to a fire. We had the road to ourselves and it was amazing!

We picked up the bus at the headquarters where there are restrooms, water stations and an opportunity to purchase refillable water bottles. We boarded our bus and what an experience! The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, she has been a red bus guide for years! The buses are comfortable and authentic buses. It’s bench seats and the roof rolls back for terrific viewing opportunities. They provide you with Pendleton Wool blankets for warmth. But I would recommend wearing clothes commensurate with the weather. It does get colder as you go up.

When you get to the top, there is a shop and plenty of hiking trails! You only have about 15-20 minutes at the top, but it’s enough to get out and stretch your legs. All along the route the buses stop and allow for photos and “gophering” out of the roof!

This is a must do activity!!!

Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took this tour as it was our first time visiting Glacier. I highly recommend. It allows you to view the beauty of Glacier without the hassle of driving the Going to the Sun Road..which isn't necessarily a hassle but one cannot drive and enjoy the view without it being borderline dangerous. The other perk is the the Jammer(driver) is highly knowledgeable about the park and you get tidbits of information you wouldn't get if driving yourself. I love Glacier and intend to go back next year.

Thank 910ChristiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited GNP twice in 6 years. On both trips, we took advantage of the Red Bus Tours. In the first, we traveled from East Glacier to Logan Pass. More recntly we took the Crown of the Continent tour (the entire going to the sun road). Both trips were excellent. It is so relaxing not having to drive the GTTS road yourself and you can look all about to see the spectacular views. Also, guaranteed parking no matter where you start. The Crown tour was a full day, but absolutely worth the time and money.

Thank soniabarlow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Glacier this summer and the location was beautiful. We rode on the Red Bus and the ride was great. The driver was very informative and he stopped often to see the sites. Riding the Red Bus allowed me to see everything instead of driving and having to watch traffic. We even had a black bear walk along side the road.

Thank Monte313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the Crown of the Continent full day tour, which picked us up at the West Glacier KOA (where we were staying). As a single parent traveling with my child, this was a great way for both of us to see the park in all its glory. Too often, I'm doing the driving, so I can't look around at the scenery much. This tour allowed me to keep my eyes OFF the road and on the gorgeous mountains, wildlife, foliage, etc. The driver had tons of great stories and information about all the regions of the park. It might have been a little too much sitting for my 4.5 year old, but there were lots of stops and opportunities to get out and stretch our legs, look around and enjoy the views.

Glacier is a majestic place and this tour was well-worth the cost. I felt like we say way more of the park than we would have had we tried to do things on our own. I highly recommend it.

Thank traveling_solo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An early snow closed the Sun road just before our trip, but Pete our "jammer" did a wonderful job taking us to other parts of Glacier NP. Pete, was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and knew where to stop for breathe taking views. We had a small group and it was a real treat to take this trip. When we return to GNP we will also reserve a trip on the red buses.

Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Our tour and tour guide were outstanding. Able to see almost all of Glacier National Park with good lunch option on the route.

Thank BarbaraH2238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

West Side Crown of the Continent Tour.
Due to the Howe Ridge fire, only commercial vehicles were allowed on the West side of Glacier National Park, we virtually had the park all to ourselves!
We chose the 8AM Pickup at the West Glacier KOA (early arrival at the first pick-up afforded us the opportunity to choose seats in the snug 1930 Ford bus – a good move!) The journey starts in the cedar and hemlock forests of the Lake McDonald Valley. We traveled through the clouds up the Going-to-the-Sun Road along a glacially formed arête to the top of the Crown of the Continent at Logan Pass. We then headed down through the St. Mary Valley and out to the prairies of Big Sky Country, continuing into the magnificent Swiftcurrent Valley, stopping often to enjoy the amazing vistas. Along the way we even rolled back the canvas top of the bus to enhance the experience. We enjoyed views of the valley during an optional lunch at Many Glacier Hotel. On our return trip to the west side, the clouds broke and we were treated to the splendor we missed in the early morning.

Thank dlawlorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

My wife and I like tours when we visit a new location. This was disappointing. The departure time was apparently just an estimate as we departed almost 20 minutes late but to make up for that they were able to complete the tour 35 minutes early. About 25% shorter than advertised.

If you want to learn a new word (or at least a new meaning) than learning jammers is for you. It will be repeated about 30 times throughout the trip and there might even be a quiz at the end. The history of the Red Buses is interesting and worth a 5 minute discussion. Learning the history and maintenance schedule for all the buses was over kill.

More time and information relating to the park, its history, and the future would have been appreciated. The season was ending in a few days and I am sure that the drivers and schedulers just wanted to be done and go home. I am just sorry we wasted our money on this tour. Much less than any others we have taken in the past, Key West, Niagara, DC, Colorado were all light years ahead of the Red Bus.

The views are wonderful

1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The West side Glacier National park was closed due to fire 2018. The East side of Glacier National park was opened. This company redid their usual routes to accommodate the change in the park system. The cars are wonderful and the tour guide was very informative. The guide picked out some minute details that we would have never been the wiser of if we had not traveled with him. Wonderful tour lasted much of the day. "Going to the Sun Road" East to Logan pass was a wonderful tour.

Thank Colleen1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews